Flying in public areas

Reaction score
I realize the obvious of FAA rules and no fly zones, privacy and public events without proper permission, but what have you photographed or video without concern of violations. I plan to do most flying & photography around the Ca. Beach areas (central coast region). What about overhead of piers, surfers, whales, commercial boat fishing, etc. your experiences and advice are appreciated.

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

Reactions: ebf
I personally would not worry about it.... but use common sense, not too close, not overhead of people, and if you stumble upon a nude beach there will be complaints! ;-)

I think you have to treat it like any camera at the beach... somebody snapping family beach photos OK, somebody with 600mm zoom lens taking "hobby" photos, probably not OK

I'm not a lawyer but when you go out into public I think you assume the risk that you may be photographed, video taped etc. I think privacy laws are geared more toward personal/private property and what is reasonable.....

I will say that I used to use Google street view as an example, but you see that they blur faces and license plate numbers, probably just to be safe, but you can still see every other detail of your front yard.

Do yourself a favor and wear your faa registration on a lanyard around your neck, easily viewable and presentable. Most people can't tell you what FAA stands for but they're all big shots about asking if your drone is registered. Local law enforcement may want to see it too. Have it available to produce and if you aren't registered, do so before you fly in areas where you'll be approached by the public. Then, be smart about where and how you fly and just fly, man.