Flying in Ground effect??

Reaction score
I am trying to be very precise about my quad landings. I am a regular pilot and just think it's good practice. I always land into the wind. I have noticed a couple if times that the bird starts a rhythmic wobble a foot or so above the ground. Thinking that anything rhythmic is probably not good I abort the landing and go around for another approach. You have to pass through some GE to get the bird back on the ground, but what are the hazards? I am aware of ring vortex but that seems like a descending problem, not hovering. Thanks

I think it is some sort of ground effect indeed. There is probably a good technical term for it. I have experienced it too. If you try to hover close to the ground (say like 20 - 50cm off the ground) then after a few seconds the craft starts to wobble up and down. Sometimes very close to the ground. Freaks me out. I must have something to do with bouncing updraft off the ground. Its worst on tarmac or anything hard, and the effect is less on something like grass. So it must be the downward air bouncing back up into the craft which makes it wobble like that.

I am aware of ring vortex but that seems like a descending problem, not hovering.
I look for patterns. Have noticed in cases where bird was hovering over water resulted in bird taking a swim or flying away. My theory was reflections of the signals affecting communication. Another person's theory was hovering for a long time results in VRS. In one case, the bird was flying into a strong head wind over water and the bird dropped. Perhaps the bird was flying so slowly against the wind that it had the same effect as hovering.

Wondered if hovering over land would also have effects.

Here is an example of propagation effects of reflection: