Flying in fog?

Reaction score
Caught the fog rolling in off the water last night with some long exposures, pretty good stuff. This morning it was pretty thick and I was thinking about catching a sunrise through or above it.

Does anyone here have any experience/advice/insight on flying through medium thick fog?

I'm not concerned about LOS issues, I can fly by instruments as I'm not going far horizontally and put a strobe on.

Mostly I'm wondering if moisture intrusion is something to worry about.

Just the facts, please. I can speculate on my own and already have a few theories.

Sent from my SM-N920T using PhantomPilots mobile app

Hi, not sure where your at but here in sw colo we have fog that would cause aircraft rim ice. So I will be avoiding
winter fog for sure. Im new to the phantom and they are a lot of fun, but to much money on the line for me to
take the chance. Take care and much luck.

Depends on the temperature. If it's close to freezing, there's a risk of ice forming on the props which would cause aerodynamic difficulties and could cause your phantom to drop. If it's warm, then you probably would be okay, but if you get a spot of water on the camera lens then your footage will be useless.

Another point to be noted is the signal and range gets drastically reduced by the moisture.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Another point to be noted is the signal and range gets drastically reduced by the moisture.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots