Flying in cold wet weather

Reaction score
hi everyone,

I'm new to flying, are there any problems when it comes to flying in cold or wet weather? By wet, I mean cloudy with wet ground but not raining.

Should I avoid flying in this condition?

Thanks,
Luke

Reactions: PhantomWetSuits
Manual states you shouldn't fly below freezing, but pilots have flown well below freezing with great success. Be sure your battery is warmed pre-flight and keep an eye on battery strength as you fly.

Clouds and wet roads are no problem.

Watch out for the wind.

Manual states you shouldn't fly below freezing, but pilots have flown well below freezing with great success. Be sure your battery is warmed pre-flight and keep an eye on battery strength as you fly.

Clouds and wet roads are no problem.

Watch out for the wind.

Thanks mark, is there a technique to warming the battery or do I just turn the phantom on for a while before taking off?

There are lots of methods. One is to stick it in your inner coat pocket or even under your shirt and let your 37C body heat it up. Some guys put it on their truck dashboard with the defrost vents blowing on it and also leave it on the dashboard in the sun. I fly from home a lot and actually put mine in the kitchen oven, but you'd need to do a few dry test runs first with a good oven thermometer (my oven is actually only on for 90 secs) and use a timer!

Run_North_Dec_4_2016_P2_V_mp4_snapshot_00_01_201.jpg

Last edited:
I know from several posts already that flight time will be reduced in the cold. My question is: Will the rate of drop be consistent and predictable? (versus gradual drop, then sudden depletion)