Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

flying hone curiosity question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Suwaneeguy, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. Suwaneeguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    22
    Let's say you're flying over a 200 foot high wall. Then drop the bird down on the other side.
    Ooops. Lost signal. Time to go home.
    So the bird automatically adjusts to 60 feet, then tries to fly through the wall?
    Or will it fly to the highest recorded height first, then adjust?
     
  2. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    That's a pretty high wall! Don't drop down on the other side of it! Your Phantom will return home at 20m or the current height whichever is greater.
     
  3. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Repeat the mantra... Maintain LoS ... Maintain Line of Sight...

    If you maintain Line of Sight with the Phantom, then it's the best guarantee that it has a way back to you. Once you go over a 200' wall (are you talking about 4 walls that make up one building here) and drops down on the other side, then it's insta-death for your phantom. It'll immediately lose signal, tries to return to home and flies directly to said wall and plummets down from 195' high.
     
  4. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    It depends on if you first took off from an altitude higher than that wall. If your Phantom is below 20m from the point of takeoff (ground level), it will ascend to 20m above ground level, then go home. So if you take off from atop the Great Wall of China, you're fine.

    If you take off from the ground on one side, then fly over the wall and back down, yes the Phantom will ascend 20m, then fly straight into the wall; it's blind and has no way of knowing you went over a wall in the first place.
     
  5. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    I am still confused what happens if:

    After take off you ascend Phantom to 220' AND reset the home point there.
    Then fly over the wall and descend behind it AND loose RC connection.

    Will the Phantom ascend to 220' + 20m AND fly home at that altitude?
     
  6. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The height is relative to the home point stored in the Phantom. If still in doubt, you should test it. But I would suggest you make your wall imaginary the first time around.
     
  7. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    Home point in 3D space.
     
  8. mikeydaddio

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you reset the home point while flying?

    Mike
     
  9. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Depends on if you have a 2 or 3 way switch, you flip rapidly 3-5 times between CL and HL.
     
  10. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
  11. cayman57

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    While I was at the Grand Canyon I was in the same dilemma. If I flew 100ft down in the canyon and lost contact would it ascend 160ft and home or 60ft and into the wall of the canyon!! That is why I didn't fly down the canyon just above it.
    Simon
     
  12. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    it would climb 160ft, but I suspect you would have bigger problems flying the GC!
     
  13. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Yes. The home location consists of:

    home latitude
    home longitude
    home altitude (barometric)

    I cannot say for certain if all three are updated when you reset it in the air but I would assume so. Should be pretty easy to test with an OSD. No matter what, the Naza will evaluate the current altitude with the home altitude + 20m and use whichever is higher for RTH. I also assume the Naza will ignore the home altitude on auto land and maintain a gradual descent until the barometric pressure stops increasing for more than xx seconds.
     
  14. Larryreilly

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you took off from a cliff and flew it down into a canyon and it lost connectivity would it fly back to the top of the cliff?
     
  15. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    . Yes, it will come up about 60ft above the top of the cliff where you took off.
     
  16. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Did it shut off in mid-air???