Flying for compensation or hire

Reaction score
I've been interested in these copters for a while and when my brother (a film maker) said he wanted to start using them for filming, i bought one to learn on. (pretty good excuse right?) I'm a pilot and familiar with the FAA's view on model aircraft/drones and know they don't allow the use for compensation or hire unless you have a certificate of authorization (COA).

You must apply for an account (https://ioeaaa.faa.gov/oeaaa/Welcome.jsp) on that website. You need to email/call the helpdesk and tell them you'd like an account. They'll review some information... not sure what, and then hopefully grant you an account. I'm currently waiting on my account to be created so i can then apply for the COA.

Has anyone else gone through this process? Any pointers? I called the helpdesk and the guy on the phone said he has seen universities, corporations and individuals both get denied and granted a COA. He said the FAA is looking for what purpose and where you'll be flying. That says to me that if you're not a total idiot, you should be granted a COA. Reference the Title 14 code of federal regulations (part 91 to be exact) and show the FAA you know what you're talking about.

Like I said, I'm still waiting to get my account created so i can apply for the COA. I'll be sure to keep you guys updated on what happens.

Subscribed. I am interested in how this plays out. From what I have heard, the FAA hasn't issued too many COAs to individuals.

I'm going to take my time with the application/request for a COA. I plan on being very thorough.

I'm wondering how the FAA would respond if I didn't have a COA but asked for a special fight permit on a closed set. My goal is to use this for film making and so any location that it would be flow at would be closed off to the public and only authorized personnel would be in the area. Just thought of that right now. Guess we'll see!