Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flying control

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Gary Elliott, May 16, 2016.

  1. Gary Elliott

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    When flying my P3 w/ my iPhone the screen goes black, reads Disconneted and eventually comes back on. Does it every time I take a photo. Very disconcerting! Any thoughts?I do still have control.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    Which iPhone are you using?
     
  3. FrequentFlyer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Riverside,Ca
    Could be your memory card. Re-format or try another.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Gary Elliott

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    iPhone 6
     
  5. Gary Elliott

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    That's the sd card in the phantom?
     
  6. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Yes, since your iPhone doesn't have one. Or if it did, there are lots of people who would like to talk to you.

    That's unlikely but possible. I've not heard of that one before, but I would --

    - Make sure that DJI Go is the only thing running. Go into Airport mode. Should not be necessary (I forget to do this all of the time) but it eliminates some variables. Reboot the iPhone.
    - Check the cable. Wiggle it and see if you get disconnects. There have been a number of intermittent errors caused by subtly bad cables (although in your case it seems to be due to the photography function).
    - Uninstall the Go app and re install.
    - Make sure you've updated the RC and the P3 to the same level.

    If that doesn't help, let us know. The above are pretty much standard 'it's not working quite right' things to do. Useful for many occasions.
     
    meissner58 likes this.
  7. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Might as well clear the cache and cookies on the iPhone before rebooting it. ;-)
    Get rid of them nasty dust devils too. Hahaha


    RedHotPoker
     
    meissner58 likes this.
  8. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    742
    Location:
    Australia
    Are you shooting a braket/in HDR mode. There can be a short delay while the camera dumps its cache onto the SD card.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    Gary Elliott, I have some tips here to make your iPhone run more efficiently.
     
    meissner58 likes this.
  10. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    A device will shut down when there are too many processes for it to handle, or if the operating temp is too high.
     
  11. konidair

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    it depends on the device...iOs handles the processes/apps in a different way without shutting the phone down.
     
  12. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Did this just start happening after working for months or is this the first time you've used it? Like mentioned above, make sure you've updated all apps and batteries along with RC to the same fw version.
     
  13. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    The point is, all devices that lack the resources to handle multiple processes, fail in one way or another. In this instance failing means the device has become unable to meet the requirements needed. Each time there is a update to the GO app it generally has had additional processes added. And before you know it, someone that has never had problems, does have.
     
  14. konidair

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I agree with you, but in our case a healthy Iphone 6 is more than capable of handling the DJI app(plus other background processes), unless of course there is some kind of hard/soft-ware issues.
     
  15. Gary Elliott

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Sorry for the delay. Darn work gets in the way of fun! Just cleared history, cookies etc. Gonna give it a try. Thank you!
     
  16. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Ok, well good luck. Hopefully you are good to "Go"! ;-)

    RedHotPoker