Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flyaway --Interrupted

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kregh, Nov 2, 2013.

  1. Kregh

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrenceville Ga
    What version phantom is this? Does it have one antenna or two?
     
  2. Colombus

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antibes, France
    What is your TX/RX ?

    It will be interesting to dig into your Phantom electronics since you managed to have it back.

    The only thing I do not agree with your check list, is to do every time the "compass dance". I would do it just every time that is needed and in a familiar place, if by any chance there is a magnetic field in a new flying location then this could actually make your compass going crazy.

    I am glad you at leas have your Phantom to repair it and continue your hobby.

    M
     
  3. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    I used to think that the stock TX/RX was always involved. But this is not always the case.

    However, the craft behaviour is consistent with all genuine flyaways i.e. where pilot error can be reasonably discounted.

    All [valid] reports are that the craft acts as if both sticks are pushed fully forward.

    As you say, your flyaway was interrupted, so you never got to the point of discovering that forcing a RTH didn't work!
     
  4. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
    From your comments it sounds as though you are running an aftermarket TX/RX but you have not confirmed that. Is that the case or was it stock TX/RX?
    What version firmware was installed?
    When did you last do an advanced IMU calibration?
    Was the sun very bright and low in the sky? (That's not a random question as sunlight on the LHS of the Naza body SERIOUSLY affects the internal barometer) That's why I have black insulation tape on mine !
    Have you opened up the Phantom since the crash and checked Naza, GPS etc is fully secure?
    One final thought when you flew around (for 30-40 seconds) did you land, stop motors and then immediately take off again?
    And last - how old is the Lipo you were using (approx how many charge discharge cycles?)
    Oh and..... do you use stock charger or aftermarket?
    The reason for asking the last three is because if the Lipo has at some point become compromised then it's possible it caused a brown-out in the Naza and crashed the firmware.

    Sorry to hear about your fly away/crash - maybe if you can answer the above questions it may help in gettin some answers as to why it happened.

    All the best
     
  5. netphreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish you hadn't updated the firmware. If you bought it from a dealer, I know DJI has been replacing recovered flyaways for free. I think they really want to dissect the phantoms that do this so they can be more aware of what causes the problem. Your dealer still might do it though.
     
  6. Guondersub

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tenerife (Canary Islands)
    I am on the final approach to buy a Phantom V 1.2 but all this flyaway reports scare me like hell! I'm not up to let the money go to heaven with not even knowing when or how it may happen.

    Is that the case with any multicopter, or it is just an issue with NAZA and DJI products? Maybe your comments will change my approach.

    Alberto
     
  7. chrisflyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't think they are .i received mine on tusday and lost it by wednesday.have contacted dji but they seem very reluctant to do anything...any tips from anyone to get them to replace it will be great
     
  8. fly-catchers

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Kent England
    Have you tried contacting the dealer where you got your Phantom? That seems to be dji stock suggestion on their facebook page regarding flyaways.
     
  9. chrisflyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did call then action cameras but they did not seem that concermned and told me to contact dji..then just as i was saying ok thanks i will he said they have heard of quite a few fly aways .mm i thought so there is a problem then.spent the best part of a week now walking through muddy fields trying to find it