Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fly carefully battery error message ???

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Jay, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi All
    Just went out for a fly all battery's were fully charged flew out to about 200m then message pops up on phone saying something about fly carefully something about battery problem and i then noticed there was no battery percentage showing on the phone.Has anyone else had this error message ? Or does anyone know what May have caused it ?
     
  2. Geoelectro

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Houston Tx.
    Yes. Battery communication error. When it happened to me moments later it fell like a rock from 80' up. I believe it's from the battery data pins losing good connection. Since I've started cleaning the pins and the pads they touch on the battery.

    If you ever see this error message, land it immediately!

    Geo
     
  3. UrAwFuL

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm curious, how did you clean your pins?
     
  4. DJIp2v

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medellin, Colombia - South America
    Hi Jay
    Before you read my story, did you check how many times or cycling charge had your battery?, mine was close to 20 when it started to show this annoying issue.

    I have had the same problem with my stock battery, when the battery falls below 60% the phantom´s leds blinking red rapidly and the message on the phone alerts that there is a low battery condition, but when you move down the throttle stick to the descend position just a little, the battery alert goes away and phantom´s led become green again. In this case, you are descending with no power enough to maintain altitude.
    In order to know what was going on with my battery, I was checking the battery cells using the assistance software but the readings were very close from one to another, so my first conclusion was to perform a total battery discharge until it was reached between 6% or 8%, then start to charge up again in order to balance each battery cell. (accordingly with the assistance instructions)
    After I did it, I was running a flight check under controlled situation (holding with my hand one of the phantom´s legs) in order to prevent an accident.
    Let me tell you that up to know, the problem still exists and I don´t know how to fix it.

    If I discover something related with this issue, I will tell you as soon as I get it.

    Best regards
     
  5. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    DeOxit does a very nice job. Or probably just plain rubbing alcohol would work fine if you allow it to evaporate before using the battery.

    A standard eraser works on the parts that you can get it into (which aren't many on a Phantom).
     
  6. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    It's strange because all the connections look clean and the battery has only been used about 9 times.I landed it and wiped the connections restarted and it flew ok.
     
  7. pencilcoil

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    9
    It shouldn't crash if you get a battery data error because dji patched the software to make sure that wouldn't happen after it became an issue earlier this year. I believe the phantom now makes its decisions on battery voltage alone.
     
  8. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    If your (EDIT: Phantom Vision) was purchased before March 2014...you may have the old style data pins, which are suspect as the cause of battery failures. Here is a picture of the different style pins:

    Edited. Battery has pads not pins. Pins are on the craft itself and can be upgraded.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    From that picture it seems both my battery's have the old style pins
     
  10. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    It's not the battery's that have the pins it's the phantom
     
  11. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Are the pins them selves removable?
    (currently away from a/c)

    I have used 'pogo pins' before and they can be obtained from suppliers like Digkey, etc. in various styles etc.
     
  12. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
  13. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    :lol:
     
  14. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for that info and the picture i think i will be changing my ones.
     
  15. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    And if you do have the old style and want to upgrade you can buy the newer power block from DJI and swap them out yourself if you have normal soldering skills. Pretty easy change out.
     
  16. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    Correct... Sorry, i meant the Vision not Battery. There is an upgrade for these pins, but requires soldering.
     
  17. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Yes thanks i have ordered some of the new ones now
     
  18. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
  19. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
  20. Ozziebattler

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fernvale Queensland Australia
    When you change the internal power plug get yourself a bottle of Deoxit Gold and put it on every dozen or so flights, I have been using it and no more communication errors!