Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fly Away

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Bradr19, Feb 6, 2015.

  1. Bradr19

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Beautiful late afternoon, so I thought I'd fly my FC40. Newly charged battery and down the street I went. I got about a block and a half away and then rose up and tried to return. It flew farther away. I put it in home mode and pulled back on the stick, but it kept going. I did have my name and phone number along with reward on it.
    Be careful my friends. Sure hope someone finds it soon and calls me.
    Brad
     
  2. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    You flew down the street, filled with lots of WIFI spots and other forms of electromagnetic interference, hope someone does find it.
     
  3. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    62
    :| . Why do you think this happen? Did yo take all the pre-flight steps?
     
  4. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    Not many people run 5.8 ghz wifi which is why I got the FC 40. From what you said, it appears you lost radio control. Once you lost radio control, the phantom returns home, but in your case it did not which suggests you did not get a home lock. I have nervously tested this many times, and each time the phantom returns home. Once you get your quad back just be sure to follow the pre flight checks. Just take this as a lesson for future flights. I hope you get it back soon.
     
  5. mendezl

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Mandeville (New Orleans) Louisiana, USA
    where you in ATTI mode?

    If so, home lock does not work in atti mode because it needs gps info.
     
  6. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    Best way to check if the home point is written correctly (without FPV with OSD):

    After startup wait for the second rapid green sequence. Take off and hover about 100 feet away at an angle of 45 degrees relative to the startup nose position. Switch IOC to Home Lock and pull back on the stick. If the Phantom is coming in your direction the Home point is correct and RTH will work.
     
  7. quadcopterblogger.com

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've set my s1 switch up to RTH but haven't had the courage to try it out yet! Think I need to man up and flip the switch! If I know that it works then it will give me a lot more confidence in how far away from me that I dare to fly it!
     
  8. Bradr19

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had made sure it had both sets of green flashing lights before takeoff. I wonder if my transmitter batteries were low. I never saw a yellow flashing light to indicate that however.
    Hope some good soul out there finds it and returns it.
     
  9. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    If the battery turns low the FC40 controller/transmitter will beep. When it starts to beep you still have at least a couple of minutes before it shuts down and you would have time enough to bring it home and land.

    I would carefully check the XT60 connectors. If you wiggle them, do they hold connection? Or do you occasionally get the startup tones again? In that case, make sure the connectors make a firm contact by prying out the male connectors a little. A tiny little drop in connection causes your FC40 to start all over again with it's GPS locking procedure, even though the motors may keep spinning. I had it once (2nd flight from new) and nearly lost my quad when it went out of control. RTH didn't work because the GPS was totally messed up. Switching to Atti I got control back but I crashed it in the (soft) bushes immediately just to be sure. I wiggled the XT60 connection a little and I heard 2 startup melodies at almost the same time. After prying out the male connector I never had the problem again. Wiggling is an easy check. I's on my pre flight checklist ever since.
     
  10. Bradr19

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no drone. Keep hoping someone will call me
     
  11. Bradr19

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maximum distance it could fly on a new battery? I know this is strictly a guess, but it gives me an idea of how far to look.
     
  12. Ramz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Corbin, Kentucky U.S.
    I hope you find it. If you've already looked far try looking closer.
    Mine did something similar a couple months back.
    It looked like it had just kept on going but what really happened was it went down, low battery.
    I looked for a long time far away but it wound up being about one block away in the neighbors back yard.
     
  13. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Soooo,

    YOU FOUND IT,


    Very cool. How is it acting now?

    I've had my bird get a bit out of hand when it's really far off. I was unable to tell which way it was going.

    Shutting off the controller works well, provided the bird knows where home is. ;)
     
  14. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    If it's a standard FC40 maybe 13-15 minutes x 8-10m/s, which would give anything up to 9000m or about 6 miles.

    Edit:
    wrong, I was thinking of 2 batteries .......

    With one 2200 Lipo you get average 12minutes (I recall) so it would be 7200m or around 4 miles.