Flight simulators

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm a natural history cameraman and have bought a P2 with GoPro and gimble to take low level aerial footage. I'm totally new to RC flying and would like to get some experience with a flight simulator. Is it possible to use the Phantom control with any flight sim software? I can't see anywhere to plug it into to my computer. If not can you recommend a controller and the best software please? For the latter I've read that Heli-X is good and has the option to simulate a Phantom. Oh, I'm a Mac user, by the way.

Sorry, one more question - I can't seem to update the software on my Phantom using my Mac. Will it only talk to a PC?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

AFAIK, no-one yet supports the phantom as a plug in controller, although this is technically possible. The Mac software is usually fairly robust. Have you downloaded and installed it from the DJI site?

I use Phoenix R/C on a PC and it has the Phantom 1 in there as an aircraft, but... it is not that close to the real thing. It seems to fly much more slowly and is even easier to fly than the quad itself. Maybe one of the free apps on an ipad is a better starting point just so you get to learn what the controls actually do.

I suggest you remove the GoPro & Gimbal -if you have one, and then learn to fly in the real world. The main things that break are the gimbal and the props, so removing the gimbal and accepting you might chew up a set of props is worth the risk. Just avoid water and really heavy landings, that's all.

Find yourself a big field without any obstacles on a calm day and slowly build your confidence.
Start by reading the manual - so you know how to start and stop it, then switch it on, calibrate the compass, ensure you have GPS lock and think about your first flight.