Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flight concerns

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by henreyes21, Sep 19, 2015.

  1. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    Is there anyway possible to see where you're going? Some app you guys recommend that can show battery life/altitude?
     
  2. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    What u flying and what equipment u flying with. Pics & details are important so we can help
     
  3. Reflection

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    You need to add an FPV (first person view) kit to your Phantom 2. For battery life/altitude info, you also need an OSD. Many people like the DJI iOSD mini.

    If you don't have a Gimbal/GoPro, and you only want FPV, you might consider this:


    It comes with a camera and transmitter and cost under $30. You would also need a receiver.
     
  4. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    P2 H43D
     
  5. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    Very helpful I appreciate it
     
  6. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you have a action cam get the Skyzone TS5823 200mw video transmitter it will just plug into your camera, You can get it for around $30 U.S and $38 CAN.
    I bought mine from rotorgeeks
     
  7. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    Wow that'll work great but would that interfere with the RC to drone frequency?
     
  8. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have it on my phantom and it works great. You can go about 1.5k away without loosing signal
     
  9. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    That sounds great, once i have all the installed to the P2 how to do i view it? is there an app i can download on my phone or something?
     
  10. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I connected mine to a monitor .Watch this video it should help. it will show something called a IOSD mini in the video but you don't need it
     
  11. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    It's asking to choose between a SMA and RP-SMA option. Do you know which one it is?
     
  12. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    They both do the same thing here is a video explaining the difference
     
  13. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    Oh I see went with the SMA to be safe. Just ordered it, seems easy to install can any monitor off amazon work for this?
     
  14. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't know, you can email rotorgeeks and ask what they suggest to connect it to or if you can connect it to your phone.
     
  15. henreyes21

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County NJ
    Great thanks a lot for your help Ethan!
     
  16. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    No problem!
     
  17. Eric the Red

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you are using a gopro you can use the blue tooth & teh go pro app on your cell phone for a "poor Man's FPV" but I found it eats up the go pro battery life and range is limited.

    I did that until I got a avl58 transmitter and a Black Pearl reciever/monitor combo.
     
    henreyes21 likes this.
  18. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    But with a P2 you shouldn't use the GoPro WiFi because your controller uses the same frequency, so you are risking losing control of your P2...
     
    Mako79 and henreyes21 like this.
  19. Eric the Red

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does teh anti-interference board prevent that? Or am I mis understanding what that does? Noob here myself.
     
  20. C-Mac13

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    From B&H:
    The Anti-Interference Board for Zenmuse H3-3D from DJI is used when installing the H3-3D on the Phantom 2, and fits between 8-pin cable and the G8 port on the gimbal. It filters the power being supplied to the gimbal to help minimize any interference with the video signal. It is specifically for Phantom 2 Installations, and is not suitable for use in other aircraft models.