Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flew my FC40 for over 20 minutes today, on one MultiStar 4000 battery

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by IflyinWY, May 6, 2015.

  1. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    BATTERY BUFFOON.jpg BUFFOON ALERT...
    MY SETTINGS WERE TOO LOW IN THE NAZA ASSISTANT.
    DON'T DO WHAT I DID.


    I ruined 2 perfectly good MultiStar 4000 batteries.

    But below the broken line is me thinking I had broken the sound barrier, or whatever. Duh...
    ---- ------ --------- ---------- ---------- ----- -------



    Yep, and now I hate prop guards (well sort of) because of the weight and drag.

    I finally removed the prop guards to see what kind of flight time I could get. I'm amazed, and if I hadn't done it 3 times I wouldn't have believed it myself. I've got video from the FC40 camera too. :D

    Here's the stats:

    Elevation: 4,390 feet above sea level
    Temperature: 62 f
    Dew Point: 44 f
    Relative Humidity: 52 %
    Wind: SSE 20 gusting to 26 mph

    Time of day: About 8:00 pm, you can tell by the sunset

    The "FREAKING AWESOME" Bird, DJI Phantom FC40, Model P330D
    The Camera: Stock FC40 in the stock mount
    Props: DJI 9450 Thrust Boosted Version, E300 The props have about 2 hours on them, no nicks.
    The Battery: MultiStar 4000, 10 C 3S I have no idea how many flights, maybe 50.

    Gross Takeoff Weight: 990.9 grams

    Mods:
    "Unpowered" 35 gram video transmitter (mounted inside),
    a couple holes carved out of the body for the TX antenna and to view the channel,
    the battery door has been removed.
    That's it.

    Sure hope I didn't cook my batteries... :eek:

    Folks have been telling me to loose the guards for a long time. I think I just did. :D


    The following line has been edited too.
    The video editing software is giving me a hard time and I will still post it for you folks to laugh at..
     
    #1 IflyinWY, May 6, 2015
    Last edited: May 7, 2015
    dirkclod likes this.
  2. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    Cool. What type of transmitter you got? Any problems with interference being under the hood?
     
  3. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
  4. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    I got a RMRC 2.4 Ghz, 700 mw. Still doing testing on it.

    I need a battery powered 2 amp, 12 volt constant voltage power supply at the other end. My screen and receiver want 22 watts of juice. :rolleyes:


    I can't answer the interference question, haven't powered it up in flight yet. Still waiting on more stuff to finish that project. I'm not liking the heat inside, may have to do some serious ducting of fresh air, or just pull it out... :( Will keep you posted though.
     
  5. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hey Dirk,
    Do you have a "Failure" pic you can put up for me? LOL
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I think ya just added one in the OP bro ! :eek: