Fix or Replace Engine

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie. Just got my Phantom today and love it.
I set her down a bit too hard and one of the props dug into the ground. Now one of the motor smells burnt and the prop still spins but barely; not enough for lift off.

Do I need to replace the motor? Or maybe just the bearings? Or maybe just put some oil on it?

Disappointed I hurt it after only about 10 minutes of flight.

Thanks for the help!

Claydoh

replacing the motor is probably your best bet.

But once you've got the old motor out, perhaps try to take it apart and clean it, ..it might be useable as a backup.

Keep in mind if you've got a Phantom 1.2 (I just got one last week and it's a Phantom 1.2) that they've changed the motors and prop screws / nuts, so that two have right-handed threads, and the other two have left handed threads. The older phantoms just used to have 4 right-handed thread motors / screws. I haven't seen any left-handed screws or motors on-line yet.

So check which ones you need - I've been going all over the place looking for left-handed nuts for the stock one I lost when the prop came off (the black screw ones are left-handed threads, the grey ones are right-handed).

berkut said:
Keep in mind if you've got a Phantom 1.2 (I just got one last week and it's a Phantom 1.2) that they've changed the motors and prop screws / nuts, so that two have right-handed threads, and the other two have left handed threads. The older phantoms just used to have 4 right-handed thread motors / screws. I haven't seen any left-handed screws or motors on-line yet.

So check which ones you need - I've been going all over the place looking for left-handed nuts for the stock one I lost when the prop came off (the black screw ones are left-handed threads, the grey ones are right-handed).

ah wow,. I think I heard about that.

..but find it a bit ironic that you lost a prop nut considering they changed it to prevent such things from happening in the first place! :eek: