Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fitting a Zenmuse H4-3D gimbal

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Roosterbooster198, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. Roosterbooster198

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since my standard gimbal which came with my P2 Vision + appears to be totalled I am looking at getting a Zenmuse H4-3D replacement gimbal to hold a Go-Pro Hero 4 black.

    Three questions:

    1) Is the gimbal easy to fit to a standard P2 Vision +? Does it mean messing about in the drone's casing or does it just screw on and connect up the cables?

    2) Do I get to see the POV of the go-pro on my phone via the DJI app like I did with the standard camera?

    3) Do I have to get a Go-Pro or will any cheap action cam of the same size work just as well?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    1. DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Plus 2.4ghz Wifi Module - wiring diagram / camera connection - Page 17 - RC Groups
    Page 17 Pitcher's instructions. Read the entire post if you want a steeper learning curve.

    2. POV = porno, FPV = RC equipment. And yes but you can only control tilt. Camera controls will not work, hence you need to tap record before flight. Good news is that you can connect to GoPro via wifi as it uses 2.4ghz (Vision systems are 5.8ghz for RC controls).

    3. Stick to gopro as the H3/H4's are designed for plug and play. You can use the Yii camera but it requires modification (USB TV out and power needs to be tapped from the wifi module).
     
  3. Roosterbooster198

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Looks a bit more complicated than I thought, I was hoping it would be a straight swap. Think I'll just buy a replacement unit.
     
  4. Pierre

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    So is the video feed only available from the GoPro wifi, and not from a feed to the Phantom's wifi module?

    I find the GoPro 3 wifi lagging over a second with their app. Do most conversions then just use a separate video transmitter for FPV?
     
  5. Cobs

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    By way of Video Transmitter Pierre, you need to follow that thread through as its how yours seems to have been modified, it does not use the GoPro WiFi.