Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fitting a Taranis Radio

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chopperflyer, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. chopperflyer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Leeds West Yorkshire UK
    I have brought a Taranis radio and going to fit it into my F/W 550, at the moment it has a JR DSX9. the reason for change is mostly down to ease of use, with having 4 rotary control's I saw this easy to operate the gimbal from the front of the Radio, the control's on the side of the JR are a bit to stiff on their ratchet's. Now what I want to know how easy is it to fit, do I set it the same as the JR or set up like a Futaba?, I know I can set to S Bus, the only worry I have is the use of X1,X2,X3,they look different than with the JR. If anyone can supply a lay out I will be grateful for any help and any pit fall's to miss, later I will want to put the radio into my Phantom 1,a lot of the forum info so far has been towards the P2. Thanks for any and all info that can be given, I know that there is a lot of help on this site. THANKS.
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    I'll try and put my config up tomorrow for download.
    It's fairly obvious how to set X1 X2 and X3 up once you have it all connected.

    Use S-Bus if possible because you don't need to mess with extra cables. I have mine set to do channels 1 - 8 via S-Bus and 9 - 16 via PWM giving me 16 useable channels. I do it this way so I can control other devices at the same time as benefiting from the use of S-Bus.

    I'm using the X8R receiver with the Taranis on all 3 of my craft.
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Please do, I'd like to take a peek at it as well.
     
  4. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    It will be this evening once I'm home from work. I didn't have time to put it up this morning.
     
  5. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Here you go: http://snk.to/f-ctmagjic

    You may find some of the voice warnings don't work for you as I'm using some custom voices.
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Cool, thank you! The next thing I wanted to get in to anyway was custom audio notifications, so I'll see if I can just replace yours (and the trigger names for them) with mine.
     
  7. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Yeah, all the custom switches are set up ready for you. Just need to replace the voices.
     
  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Much appreciated!
     
  9. chopperflyer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Leeds West Yorkshire UK
    I have tried unzipping this file and I get it as an EEEPE file and can not open it, what am I doing wrong? I am using Windows 8 or 8.1 any help please.
     
  10. TechJunkieRC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Install EEPE which is an EPROM editor and you should be good. This link should work.

    https://code.google.com/p/eepe/


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  11. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    No, install OpenTX Companion so you can open the Taranis rom file and edit it.
    EEPE editor is old and no longer used.

    Get it here: http://www.open-tx.org/