Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First time over water.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by fin032, Sep 28, 2015.

  1. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Never had the guts to fly over water yet so the Phantom thought it would do it for me. Was flying around the side of a loch when I lost signal. When the signal came back around 2 min later the phantom was basically right over the centre of the loch in go home mode. Took over control and pushed it back over land. Still unsure of flying over water.
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,435
    Only you are scared to fly over water.
    The Phantom doesn't care because it makes no difference to it.
     
    nickyb, villep, bbfpv and 1 other person like this.
  3. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    as long as vps disabled fin ur fine pal
    I did three flights over water this weekend
     
  4. NorthcountySD

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    North County San Diego
    Does one really need to disable the vps? And if so. How and where is this done.
     
  5. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    It does if I have to go fishing if it decided it fancied a we swim lol. Yeah toorboy seen your video of around loch Ore. This is where my P3 was at the weekend with me being around 12000 feet away in Kelty.
     
  6. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    hi northcountrySD look in advanced settings its right at the bottom of the list disable vps always check to see its off before attempting water shots. aye fin032 am still no a 100% on pushing the p3 out to far yet am still averaging about 500m - 600m buddy Is ur flight up on youtube fin032?
     
  7. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Best I have done is just under 6000 meters 3.7 mile. I hit loch leven so I turned around. You will be flying further out in no time and I will deal with water at some point. No on YouTube yet as I wanted to get the Dashware gauges to work with it first. iOS 9 has really messed up the flight logs though and the map as you can see. Going to have to downgrade to iOS 8.4 and try again. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1443458824.213312.jpg
     
    #7 fin032, Sep 28, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2015
  8. DrewFlies

    DrewFlies Guest

    I dont want to jynx myself. But I never disabled vps and I actually flew just 3 ft above water. I was filming an alligator in the everglades and wanted to get as close as possible. VPS was still turned on. Dont know if I got lucky or it doesnt matter.
     
  9. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    I don't use the VPS outside at all Drew. I don't think it works with water because I think it needs some sort of still pattern to work with. As water moves and changes all the time it can mess with the sensor so not recommended.
     
  10. DrewFlies

    DrewFlies Guest


    I have had VPS issues like incorrect reading of how high my Phantom actually is. It will be 30 feet high and says -7 feet. Other than that no problems, no crashes. Flown it over water plenty of time with VPS on. Ive heard a bunch of people recommend to turn it off. I guess I should start taking their advice
     
  11. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    I am sure there are lots of posts on the forum on it. After one of the updates people were having errors and a lot of people started turning it off. I didn't have errors but turned it off just incase. I never bothered turning it back on as I didn't see the point in it outside. Inside yeah 100% have it on. If your happy with it on and now have no errors maybe best keeping it on but I don't think it will work over water.