First time Drone owner - Bought Phantom 3 Advanced

Reaction score
Dear forum members,

I am a first time drone owner. I ordered the phantom 3 advanced and will be getting it next week. I am from Trinidad and Tobago in the caribbean. I don't know anything about drones but after looking at all the videos recorded with the P3 i had to buy one. I got a Samsung galaxy s4 phone and downloaded the pilot app. it installed successfully - does this mean i can use my phone to pilot the drone? also if someone calls my mobile would i loose connection to the drone? I would really appreciate some advice as i am a novice to this.

Thank you

Well, you really won't be controlling the aircraft from your smartphone. You'll be seeing the telemetry on the smartphone but the actual controls are from the controller. You should however put your smartphone in airplane mode if you plan on using it as your display for the aircraft. Trust me, you don't want to be solely depending on your phone to see all your aircraft's vitals when all of the sudden you get a call.

The best route would be to buy yourself a good tablet like an iPad Mini 2 instead. They've been proven to work very well with the Phantoms.

Reactions: Jagdesh Samaroo
Great thank you phantom3menace. And one else has some good advise for me? as i mention i knows nothing about drones. This is my first time owning one.

Great thank you phantom3menace. And one else has some good advise for me? as i mention i knows nothing about drones. This is my first time owning one.