First night flight, first crash

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to larger drones. For the past year or so I've been practicing flying with smaller cheaper drones. I bought my Phantom 1.1.1 a few weeks back and had a good first flight, it flew perfectly, I got a good 13 or so minutes of flight before I brought it in.

After seeing a few threads here on night flying, I decided to give it a try. So tonight took it out, had about 7 or 8 minutes of flight, then it happened. As I was bringing it in, it lost power, and started an inverted fall from 75 or so feet. Motors powered back up, and slowed the descent, it fell through a tree and landed in the grass. No damage, not even to the props. Here's a short video clip from my camera which also survived, showing the crash.

It appears that this crash was indeed my fault. I had the motors set to immediately turn off, and I believe that in bringing it down I dropped the stick below 10%. I'm actually relieved that it was my fault, and not a problem with the Phantom.

Hmm... it's my impression that its pretty hard to accidentally shut down a Phantoms motors while in actual flight

You have to hold the throttle stick fully down for at least 3 seconds to shut the motors down.

Did you do that?

P.S. I doubt that you have a problem with the Phantom but it might be wise to go out (in day light ;)) and verify you can fly normally.

What are your battery low voltage limits? 13 minutes with a camera load on stock P1 is a long flight time IME. You should’ve had red LED low voltage warnings if not auto-land engaging.

I know you mentioned 7-8 minutes for the crash flight but how’s the battery balance?

What are your battery low voltage limits? 13 minutes with a camera load on stock P1 is a long flight time IME. You should’ve had red LED low voltage warnings if not auto-land engaging.

I know you mentioned 7-8 minutes for the crash flight but how’s the battery balance?