Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First long distance test

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Xanadu, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stock Phantom 2/H3-2D/ImmersionRC600w/Black pearl using all stock antennas.

    At an altitude of about 70 meters made it 2,048 meters until I chickened out. Video was starting to get a little choppy. It was EXTREMELY windy and didn't want to rely on fail safe to bring it home.

    Once I put the helical and the IBcrazy antennas on this I have no doubt it could double that.

    So how far will this stock DJI transmitter work?

    Thanks,
    Landon
     
  2. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Stock controller is good for 5000m.
     
  3. Maxxborg

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. George, Utah
    5000m. No way?
     
  4. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went back out and got to 2500M and it went into fail safe. I was standing next to my truck so that may not have helped (it was holding my Black pearl as the bracket I ordered is taking a month to get here).
     
  5. thongbong

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    11
    When did you order your black pearl and from where? It sounds like they improved it if you got 2000m stock.
     
  6. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rangevideo.com, and yes still have the original omni antennas on both sides. I just got 2500M this evening, the stock Phantom 2 transmitter gave out before the video did. I was standing next to my truck so I think that may have attributed to the failsafe. I'll happily get you some photos if you want.

    -Landon
     
  7. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh wait, forgot to mention that I ordered about a month ago.
     
  8. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Well here's my flight at 4500m:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_aZlZx4QFTI[/youtube]

    and there is another member on this forum that claims 6000m

    All stock controllers. ;)
     
  9. Maxxborg

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. George, Utah
    Your osd is hard for me to read. Did you fly out 2250 meters and back 2250 meters for a flight of 4500 meters total?
     
  10. thongbong

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    11
    incredible, most people cant get more than 500m with everything stock on the BP and IRC600. Maybe you got a good one, I ordered my BP same place same time also. What's the terrain you are flying over?
     
  11. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
  12. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    This is freaking nuts!

    I see that you have the Immersion 5.8GHz 600mW Tx - What is your Rx? Is it some crazy setup? I have this FPV solution from Helipal: http://www.helipal.com/storm-all-in-one ... eluxe.html
    I start to static and crap out after like 1000ft distance, with BlueBeam antennas. I'd be happy with the advertised 500-800M range they say but I'm not even coming close to that. Would I benefit from the Immersion Tx? Would that even work with my LCD Rx? Am I doing something wrong? Where do babies come from?

    Awesome flight. How were your nerves?
     
  13. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    I use the ImmersionRC 5800 Duo Diversity receiver with 1 Blackhawk Micro helical and 1 Nimrod antenna.
    My video far outperforms the controller range now.
     
  14. tawd77

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome range! I would suggest having your roof replaced soon though. lol ;)
     
  15. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland

    LOl, its just the coating that has weathered, the concrete tiles are fine !!
     
  16. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    What did you use to overlay your Flytrex info into your flight video?

    I've seen a few different videos with overlays but they all look different or contain different data.

    A quick search brought me to DashWare . . . is that what you used? I assumed Flytrex came with something to do that, but I'm starting to believe it's separate.

    Sorry. Flytrex noob here. Thinking about ordering.
     
  17. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Just educated myself a bit on Dashware :)