Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First FPV setup for P1/GoPro, need advice.

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by Cerone, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. Cerone

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Hi guys, I'm looking to put together a relatively inexpensive FPV setup for my P1/ GoPro.

    So far this is what I've got:

    Fieldview 777 Monitor ($80)
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/...Monitor_with_LED_Backlight_Fieldview_777.html

    Skyzone TS58500 500mW TX ($37)
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/...S58500_32CH_500mW_Mini_Video_Transmitter.html

    Skyzone RC805 8Ch RX ($19)
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__18649__SkyZone_RC805_5_8Ghz_8_Channel_AV_Receiver.html

    XT60 to DC Adapter ($2)
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__49500__XT60_Male_to_2_DC_Jack_Plug_Connectors_1pc_.html

    Questions:

    1. Do I need a 32ch receiver or is 8ch good enough?
    2. How would you guys recommend powering the Monitor and RX? Ideally, I'd like to use one big battery to power them both for maybe 40-50 minutes worth of flying.
    3. If I want to power both the RX and the Monitor at the same time, would I need 2 batteries and 2 cables or is it possible to power both off the same battery?

    Thanks!
     
    #1 Cerone, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  2. Shwane

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Interested to see how well this works. I'll be watching.
     
    Cerone likes this.
  3. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    With what you have there you should be able to make it work.

    The 32ch transmitter you linked has a group of channels/frequencies that matches the channels on the 8ch reciever you linked so they will work together no worries.
    Keep in mind you should NEVER power the FPV gear wihout first connecting the antennas.That can lead to destruction.

    With the cable adapter you linked you should be able to power both the reciever and monitor running from a stock Phantom battery as long as the DC jacks are the right sizes for the receiver and monitor.At least one of the jacks on the adapter will almost certainly fit and if your lucky both will.
    If one or both of the DC jacks is not a compatible size you could use another DC jack adaptor to make it fit.
    There are adapters around that for example fit onto the 3.3mm jack at one end and fit into a 5.4mm socket at the other.
    Otherwise,if you can solder,you could buy a DC jack the right size and replace the incompatible jack that is on the adapter cable.

    Good luck with it.
     
    IflyinWY and Cerone like this.
  4. Cerone

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Thanks for the input guys.

    I ended up ordering evertyhing posted above and I actually got 2 of the XT60 adapter cables in case the sizes didn't match up right and I needed to do some modifications. I probably could get any additional size adapters at radioshack but since it's coming from HK and only cost $2 I figured it wouldn't hurt to have a backup.

    I ordered it on 6/22 and it is scheduled to arrive in San Diego on 6/29. Not bad at all considering its from Hong Kong.

    I ordered the Rave monitor mount too.
     
  5. Cerone

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    How much battery life should I expect on the monitor/RX from one LIPO 2200mah..?
     
  6. Shwane

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Louisiana
    How would you power the TX on the P2?