Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First Flight

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by stevet, Mar 8, 2014.

  1. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Ok, did the first flight today.. took a video of the second flight. I had the controller in the wrong mode so my throttle was on the right instead of the left but I went for it.

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCeWvmZ4tBs[/youtube]

    I didn't have much problems outside of trying to still figure out why x1 doesn't seem to work for me on my gimbal. Seems like a lot of people on the forums have some issues with it so I still need to take some time to debug before sending the gimbal or controller back...

    Anyhow.. still playing around and of course trying to find the proper gropro 3 video settings.
     
  2. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Another flight around my office.

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBlQwLOv6xs[/youtube]
     
  3. bernardb

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon Indiana
    You have to update the gimbal in a very specific order....
     
  4. ronair

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    bernardb....Can you tell us what order you have to download it in please , for future refference..thanks
     
  5. bernardb

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon Indiana
    From another thread:


    Re: Zenmuse Problem
    by tonydotigr ยป Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:19 pm

    I ran through this update and below are results...

    1) Plug in the remote controller with the provided usb cable and Use the PHANTOM RC Assistant software to upgrade the Remote Controller firmware
    2) Calibrate the sticks and X1 channel of the Remote Controller using PHANTOM RC Assistant software
    3) Now Plug in the aircraft with the provided usb cord and Use the PHANTOM 2 Assistant software to upgrade the Gimbal IMU firmware to V1.8 on the Upgrade page.
    4) After upgrade completed, calibrate the X1 channel of Main controller using PHANTOM 2 Assistant software,
    then the PHANTOM 2 will work well with H3-2D.
     
  6. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco

    yea I got that, my issue with the gimbal was due to the connector in the controller not touching the board. I had to carefully raise this a bit on the board and finally it started to work again. See this post I started and the video that helped my situation out. http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9685
     
  7. Fink

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Just one suggestion from another new Phantom 2 owner. I'd recommend getting it off the ground, letting it hover for about 30 seconds or so make sure it's stable and then getting it about 100ft out or whatever you comfort zone and test Home Lock. I've found this to give me quite a bit more piece of mind that everything locked in during pre-flight and that I'm safe to cut it loose.

    Again, just a suggestion and something that works for me personally.

    Thanks for posting the vids! The more vids I see, the more motivated I am to spring for the Zenmuse/GoPro combo. :D

    Fink[​IMG]