Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First Flight

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by beamerbuilder1, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. beamerbuilder1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    After my first flight I was expecting my video to automatically upload to my mobile device & the DJI Go App. However it did not. Any suggestions on why not and possible settings I may have set incorrectly? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Did you have video cache set to recording .
    IMG_5016.PNG
     
  3. beamerbuilder1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'll check it tomorrow dirkclod. I'm not sure. Thanks for the reply.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Jdhill

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    The video that appears in the app is a recording of your live view. In order to view the actual quality video, you have to get it of the sd card.
    If you have your bird and controller and iPad all hooked up you can actually do the transfer wireless, but it takes forever
    If you are using an iPad you can use this
    https://www.amazon.com/Lightning-to...=1468567076&sr=8-2&keywords=Lighting+to+usb+3
    If it's an android just load your card into a reader and plug it in
     
  5. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    I didn't know you could do this.... How do you transfer the video from the SD card in the P3 to the iPad / PC / Mac wirelessly? I've done a search and although people mention they're doing this, nothing on how you do it.
     
  6. Jdhill

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    You hook everything up, bird , controller, tablet.
    Turn everything on and make sure all is connected. In the go app you go to your editer or what ever they call it where u can view your videos. In the top right hand corner there is a button to access the sd card in bird go to it select video and hit the download button. It will start to download, takes forever and everything has to remain on and connected the whole time.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Numone likes this.
  7. jonebk12

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    96
    Reed L likes this.
  8. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I'm sorry I misunderstood what he meant . To have it in the go app you have to be recording and have that on in the app and video and all pictures
    are saved as long as you give it time to sync .
    But if your not recording it don't save it to the Go app .
    I think .
     
  9. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Thanks very much Jdhill! It's good for a field solution with all the kit up and running. But I'll stick to getting home, popping the SD card out and uploading to the PC at 35mb a second!
     
  10. beamerbuilder1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    Dirkclod, I checked and "video cache" is set to "record". I was thinking the video off the Birds SD card would be auto downloaded to my device (iPhone 6 plus) as well so I could edit my video in the DJI go app editor. For some reason that didn't happen with my first flight and video. Is this device resolution specific? I have a 6 Plus which doesn't support 4K which is what my first flight was recorded in? Do I need to change something in the birds video settings to get it to auto download to the DJI Go app video editor? Thanks for any responses. I'm new at this


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    That I don't know Beam . The only thing I thought you could edit in the Go app was what it stored in that cashe .
    I'm still learning this app also .
    Now if that ..video cashe..was set to record I would think it would be in your Go app and is on my mini so maybe
    it is device specific . I dono, sorry .
     
  12. beamerbuilder1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    Does your mini support 4K videos?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. beamerbuilder1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ok no problem dirk. Thanks for responding. I'm thinking because I recorded in 4K, it won't auto upload to the video editor in the DJI Go app on my 6 Plus because the 6 Plus doesn't support 4K videos or pictures. I may be wrong. It simply could be an incorrect setting. I'm still learning. Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I have never shot anything more than in 1080 beam .My PC can't deal with it .I thought about it this evening to try and see
    if my mini would with the cashe video in 4K but didn't have a chance to get out .
    I think I will set it up in the house in a bit and see if it will .
    Buddy I will always be learning with this thing . I'm still being showed stuff I didn't know is in that app . :)
     
  15. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    OK beam . I just tried this inside .Now I just have the P3 4K so our screens might be different but I set mine to video in 4K
    4k.PNG Then I walked around a little and stopped .Went to cashe and there it was 4kk.PNG .
    Now if I was to put that card in my PC I couldn't see it .Now I don't know what my mini is showing me that in but I just learned something new now :)
    lol
     
  16. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Isn't the cache vid always recorded in 720p?
     
  17. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    That without reading at the moment I don't know.
    You might be correct on that Numone . Might be why
    I can see it on this mini.
     
  18. beamerbuilder1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    Which mini do you have dirk. I'm looking to pick one up anyway. I need to get one like you have. Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. beamerbuilder1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    That's really strange. I have mine set to the same resolution dirk. But on my 6 Plus in the DJI Go App video editor I get a message that says on my device only 720p or 1080p videos can be downloaded.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,700
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Just a Mini 2
    I haven't seen that beam but I am not downloading anything but a few pictures to my mini .Not video . I have mine where it saves it when I am videoing .
    And like Numone said above you , what I'm seeing in the cashe video though shoot in 4K I might be only seeing in 780 .
    Still looks good on Mini :)