First Flight

Reaction score
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Hi all,

Newbie here, just got my hands on the P3A and took my first flight yesterday. Ive been flying quadcopters for approximately 6 months, so pretty new to all this.

Photography is my passion and really excited about the new avenues that opens up through the use of the Phantom. Never really experimented with video either, so looking forward to the new challenge!

Heres a few clips from the first flight - advice/ feedback welcome! Need to experiment with settings more, especially shutter and colour. Also appears that the horizon is off at certain points - is this a common incident? This video was from just the one flight.

Good job! Nice editing too! Enjoy and fly safe!

This video is great!! You picked a nice spot, that is interesting to viewers but with few hazards. I am brand new at this. What did it feel like to see your drone disappear into the sky? I noticed you had the camera down and got some nice shots, but I'll bet that helped you navigate. You said you have been flying 6 months. Where did you go to practice flying. And how much area would you recommend a beginner to practice in? I have an area outside about 15 x 15 ft. That I practice in. Had 3 crashes due to wind gust. How much practice with navigating in wind do you need to be skilled enough to get nice scenery shots like you did? Very nice job!!!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

Hi! Thanks - appreciate that! The first time sending the Phantom up was pretty scary - didn't realise how high up I really was, untill looking up and seeing the quad as this tiny dot in the sky (Was only 86m high though!)