Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First flight

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Iabove, Dec 5, 2014.

  1. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    I finally got to fly today after all the rain

    I notice that maybe 15 feet off the ground hover was ok but it would slowly drift away some times no wind btw

    Any advice maybe need to do the advance calibration again ? I don't know

    I had like 8 satellite connections

    Thanks guys for great advice from experts
     
  2. paulajayne

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bocking - England
    With a GPS lock it should stay within circa 2.5 metres horizontal and circa 0.8 metres vertical with no input.

    Is it outside these limits?

    Did you maintain a GPS lock?
     
  3. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you say that in feet or inch
    And by gps lock when I did phantom dance it was blinking green only then when I start motor start flying it was one green blink one red blink
     
  4. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Should I recalibrate remote I mean I did it before and it all center green when it was drifting slow one way I didn't wait to see how far it would go drifting
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,104
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
    This means you only had 6 satellites. The lights will blink green only if you have 6+ satellites.

    Was the S1 switch in the top position? If it was in the middle position, you were in ATT mode. That could explain the slow drifting.
     
  6. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vertical .8 meters equals 2.7 feet
    Horizontal 2.5 meters equals about 8.5 feet.
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,765
    Likes Received:
    3,472
    How far was it drifting?
    A little is normal but it's hard to comment when we don't know what yours is doing.
    If you have a P2+ you should be able to see the number of sats in the app.
     
  8. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wait maybe because I was recording after I took off

    There was power lines about 50-80feet from my hovering point and home
    I just wanted to get a feel for it maybe 10min flight

    All the switches was all up
    I have put my phantom in naza mode but my switch was in GPS mode
     
  9. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    less than this
    I am on PV+
    But I didn't look at te sat when it was in the air I kinda had to a feel for the control
     
  10. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm going to fly in a hour or so
     
  11. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Another thing how can I make sure where my home lock is where will it show me on my phone
    And let's say its wrong can I manually put the fix point of home lock

    By the way I'm using a iphone 4 not 4s
    Seem to be ok but what the hell would I know is this the only thing I have around that I can use at the moment

    Dji never got back to me on what might be some issues I might have with using iphone 4

    Thanks in advance
     
  12. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    Home point can be recognised on your phone as bying the centre of the radar image on your phone app.
    Home point is initional set at the place where you start up your bird when you allow it some time (few seconds) after it has lock sufficient satelates. Afterwarts (when flying) you can re-define homepoint manually; see manual.
    Recently (after latest Dji app udate) there is also the possibility to use a dynamic home point. The phone with the app will than be your homepoint, which will move together with the movement of you phone. You find this as a possibility you can select within the setting of the app.
    Regards FA
     
  13. Iabove

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks alot
     
  14. Jstic

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    27
    Not sure about others, but I find that the more satellites I have, the less drifting(no wind). 6-8 satellites is where I get moderate drifting, 10 and above and the quad is almost rock still.
     
  15. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    That will be the case for everyone. The more satelites the more presice the bird will know its exact position and the better it will be able to maintain its position.