First flight tomorrow

Reaction score
Hi guys

I got a Phantom 3 Professional for myself for Christmas; but here in the UK we’ve had god awful weather since it arrived, so haven’t had a chance to fly the thing! Anyhow, a break in the weather and I should have an hour free to try it out.

I’ve got permission from a farmer to fly it in his 5 acer field; no obstructions apart from a single telephone pole and trees around the edge of the field which I will keep my distance from. I’ve also read the instructions inside and out and watched the videos!

However, rather than go head strong into things, I’d rather ask for advice from you guys on how to approach my first flight, and also get involved in this fine looking community!

I’m going to find a largely level spot, and keep things to the east of the field as the telephone pole and my village is located to the west.

So any advice or pitfalls for an absolute beginner please let me know! I’ll also undoubtedly add any questions I have to this thread after my first flight

However I do have a first question; although it is going to be dry and largely sunny tomorrow, it is going to be fairly windy (about 20mph). I’m only going to try the basics; but could this be a problem for a first flight?

There is a solar storm tomorrow that will affect gps, communications etc. so be carefull

So are we taking bets you'll hit that one telephone pole in the 5 acre area,lol :) good luck!

Enjoy it's gonna be fun and quite exhilarating 20mph is quite breezy I would t fly under 15mph so take it easy