First flight anticipation...

Reaction score
Hi,

For the longest time I waited for the phantom to get as good as the vision plus. Last Thursday afternoon I got it! For 2 days prior I read all the documentation and saw all videos related to the drone. I was a theoretical expert! I got the P2V+ from Amazon (thank G_d), charged the battery, wifi repeater, updated the software, calibrated the control, etc. Got ready to fly it at a Texas size open field. Calibrated the drone, placed on the ground and then.... The drone DID NOT GET ENOUGH LIFT TO TAKE OFF!!!

I am so disappointed! Went back home to try to recalibrate the control, it said it was fine. Try it outside the house as it was getting a bit dark, same results. As I moved the left control stick up it did not throttle enough to get off the ground. I tried with the autopilot by just placing one waypoint about 10 feet away and 50 feet up, press go and up it went. It felt great! But it was a short fly! The remote control was damaged. I got so freaked out..

I went back inside the house, packed the P2V+ in its box, and inside the Amazon box, got a UPS return label from Amazon and returned it! I had to do it as I was going overseas with the drone. I am waiting for Amazon to credit my purchase so I can order a NEW ONE. I simply can't wait!

I've read all the stories about the poor customer service, and did not want to deal with it. I joined this forum shortly after dropping the box at the UPS store, and read all sort of explanations about the lack of lift. Some indicate the control had to be calibrated in mode 1 or 2, that it had to be switched for a new one, you name it... I am disapointed but hopeful that the next one will fly as it should.

Cheers,

Charlie

Hope the new one gives you lots of fun when it arrives.
I had a similar scary moment with mine and it took me a second to realise the battery was too low and the Phantom was purposefully preventing me from taking off.