First drone to start Business

Reaction score
Guys,
As title mentions planning on starting a aerial photography business to take shots and film buildings and construction sites. I am a civil engineer I think it would be a good idea since I work in construction and have exposure. I started flying a hubsan x4 with the hd camera and wanting to get a drone to take good high definition footage. Is the best bang for the buck the DJI Phantom 3 Standard for $699 or should I go Professional for $1250. I want to make the smallest investment necesarry but at the same time if business goes well might need the 4k from the professional although almost double the price? What are your thoughts. Is the 1080p good enough for panoramic and highdef footage?

Last edited:
Reactions: Farmer
1080p should be fine. Most people who shoot in 4k are downscaling the video to 1080p anyhow.

Reactions: littlesister36
Advance. They are up to 2.7k anyway, and besides, the battery charger that comes with advance is said to charge slower than the pro, I built my own DC charger for field power anyway, so, that's always an option. I think you would want the lightbridge. It's wonderful seeing HD down link and having a good radio link with everything that comes with it.
I fly my pro with 1080. It works on my TV and with my old computer where 4k did not. If and when I ever get a good editing package, I'll then go back to 4k recording. I really think the standard is missing out on the lightbridge. Only reason I invested in the P3P is for the lightbridge. Only reason I own an Ipad air 2 is for the lightbridge. it's just wow. I'm sure there's a nitch for the standard, but consider the advance or pro and a good tablet, ie IOS, (No I"m not an apple fan boy) as your investment. .. besides, nothing like flying and letting your customers take a look at the screen as you fly.

Last edited:
tavorh, and just to clarify, the Professional shoots 4k (not the Advanced).

Reactions: tavorh