First commercial gig

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to flying drones (quadcopters). I am a firefighter with the local fire dept. and the chief asked me if I could fly over businesses and take pictures to use for pre planning the buildings. It sounded good to me as it would allow me to get some flying time under my belt. Is there anything I should look out for or do to optimize this experience. Thanks

First remember that you should follow the FAA rules. Technically this is a commercial gig and you need a 333 exemption, register your bird commercially and have a pilots license. I know crazy right? But that's how it's currently setup to be "legal"

Not sure if there are any loopholes for fire department use.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

I'm fairly new to flying drones (quadcopters). I am a firefighter with the local fire dept. and the chief asked me if I could fly over businesses and take pictures to use for pre planning the buildings. It sounded good to me as it would allow me to get some flying time under my belt. Is there anything I should look out for or do to optimize this experience. Thanks
The heights of the buildings I would think would be a big priority, as I think you'll need to be fairly close to the rooftops? Sounds like a great project. I'd get them to underwrite you for damage to buildings or the aircraft too.

I believe you could get around the 333 exemption / pilots license if you don't charger for your services. You may technically need to do it off-hours.

If you are not getting paid anything extra for doing that for your department you may not need to 333.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

I believe you could get around the 333 exemption / pilots license if you don't charger for your services. You may technically need to do it off-hours.