Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Firmware version if ordered through Amazon?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Ed209, Feb 15, 2016.

  1. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Can anyone that ordered a P3A through Amazon recently tell me what version firmware they are shipping with? Looking at picking up a second P3. I want the new motors but not f/w 1.6.

    Edit: I'm choosing Amazon or Beach Camera (no tax) as the seller...
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,962
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    DJI usually does not ship Phantoms with the latest version. I've never seen anyone mention they have 1.6 out of the box, so chances are that you won't either.
     
  3. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Thanks, good to know :)
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,136
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    And different amazons locations might have different versions.
     
  5. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Just ordered from Amazon/Beach Camera.
     
  6. Droner412

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    I received mine from Amazon Friday and it did have 1.6 already on it. Seller was surerc though not beach
     
  7. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    ****... Hmmm. I'll see what Beach Camera ships me.
     
  8. Droner412

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    Amazon is pretty good about returns so you'll probably be fine either way.
     
  9. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Yup that's why I ordered from them.
     
  10. mattkd5

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got one from B@H last week and it came with 1.5
     
  11. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Thanks I guess it's a crap shoot depending on the supplier and how new their inventory is. Here's to hoping mine comes with 1.5 :grin:
     
  12. Droner412

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    can someone point me in the direction of why 1.5 is better than 1.6? Is it just personal preference or is there a bug with 1.6?

    Don't mean to hijack the thread but i'm having a hard time weeding out the info on those two specific. Lot's of info around this place !
     
  13. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    For me, I don't want the speed throttling in colder temps in 1.6. Also, not too keen on the GEO functionality until it gets more polished, but that isn't my primary issue. 1.5 had the issue with P3s allowing too much current draw from the battery and the battery was turning off. 1.4 "seems" to not have this issue.
     
    Droner412 likes this.
  14. AndyO

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^^This^^. Amazon replaced mine 3 days in after a prop flew off at 390'. No issues at all, just an immediate replacement.
     
  15. DeeX

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Magic Kingdom, FL
    To all of you ordering from Amazon... (regardless of seller)
    Have you all been getting the W323 or the W323A?
     
  16. DeeX

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Magic Kingdom, FL
    As in 390 feet?
     
  17. AndyO

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep. It was painful watching it crash down through the trees.