Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Firmware update

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jeff watson, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Need to update firmware on phantom 3 pro. I wanted to download the upgrade from dji. I have a Mac computer. File downloads as a .bin file and will not expand in stuffit. Anyone upgrade with a download from DJI to a Mac computer successfully?



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. SteveN76

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    42
    I have a Mac. No issues. I downloaded it unzipped it put it on the sd card and had no issues.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have a new mac. I'll use my G4 and see


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,386
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    There is only one file for everyone and it's a compressed zip file. Once you uncompressed it you get a .bin file that you place on your SD card.

    So you download a zip file and uncompress it to get the usable .bin file. I suspect your computer is allowing you to view the contents of the .zip file without uncompressing it.

    This is a _very_ common mistake because today's OS's disguise this fact.
     
  5. peter west nz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    28
    Copy it to the desktop, then double click it & you will get a new folder with the bin files.
     
  6. LeMonds

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    Safari defaults to uncompressing the zip file once it is downloaded. There is a check-box to un-tick in the safari settings.
     
  7. DjFur64

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just did a firmware upgrade yesterday on my p3a. First phantom and new to Mac , turns out safari automatically unzips the fill, just copy the bin file to microSD.
     
  8. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Glorious Windows 10 does this auto unzip as well.
    No more call for WinZip. Haha

    RedHotPoker
     
  9. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    @ DjFur64. So, you copied the bin files to the sd card and inserted in the gimble, it automatically upgrades the aircraft and the battery, then insert the sd to usb converter and into controller, update and your finished?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. LeMonds

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    too bad no-one ever paid for winzip
     
  11. LeMonds

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    you update the controller through the app - the bin file is only for the bird and batteries
     
  12. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Why, was there a non trial version? Haha
    I thought everything on the www was free, with a costly internet connection.
    In a self induced mood again, so a Funny thought:
    Homeless people get free internet, at the public library. But we, the ones who pay tax to build the library... Have an IP. WTF?? ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  13. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Remember not too long ago, when you could plug the included cable into the drone gimbal and RC to update the RC?

    RedHotPoker
     
  14. LeMonds

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    well, technically i have free internet at the library too, i just pay to use in in the privacy of my own home. for reasons beyond the peace and quiet ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
  15. LeMonds

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    sadly before my time. :-(
     
  16. RocketBrew

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    Arizona
    Now I feel foolish for buying 300 licenses at work, since they are free on the InterWeb!
     
  17. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Reading this thread must have stung somewhat. No Need to buy it, when there are so many free programs out there.
    But it was a problem free one, secure, easy to use.

    RedHotPoker
     
  18. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    That was only a few short months ago.
    My, How our firmware has grown up... ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  19. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I paid for WinRar. Back in the early 2000's, and still use it a lot today. It was a bargain, and the author is still turning out better versions because he has a loyal following who most are happy to pay for a great, supported software application.
     
  20. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Tried it once more. Wired gimbal to computor and downloaded to gimbal. Restarted aircraft and it started acting different. Turned of aircraft. Turned on controller, started DJI go and restarted aircraft. Went into menu and saw no firmware upgrades needed. App is 2.8.3; aircraft is 1.8.80 and remote is 1.6.0. After all that, the only difference I see, is I can stream to Facebook. Doesn't seem with the couple hours upgrading. Is there anything new I didn't notice?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app