P3 Firmware Firmware update on a new Phantom?

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to this all. I have bought a Phantom 3 Pro and still didn't fly with it yet, just making sure I take all the necessary precautions. Everything is good, but I keep reading all about these firmware updates and I was wondering if I need to do these updates with a brand new out of the box-Phantom?

Also I have an extra DJI-battery that is brand new, so the same question goes for that.

On the controller it says 'Overall Status - Normal', but I remember when having it on for the first time, it said that it needed firmware update.

And does the controller shows both the controller and the aircraft-status?

Thanks in advance for your help.

On the main screen of the GO app, tap the icon in the top right corner...(three dots)...to bring up the General Setting page. Scroll to the bottom of the page, and tap on "About"...This will tell you the firmware that is installed. Latest version for the P3 Pro is 1.9.60 and the latest version for the RC is 1.6.0.
If you've already got those installed, it may be that your new battery needs updating....to do that, you need to download 1.9.60 from the DJI page onto a micro SD card and put it in the P3, and then start up the P3 with the new battery in.

On the main screen of the GO app, tap the icon in the top right corner...(three dots)...to bring up the General Setting page. Scroll to the bottom of the page, and tap on "About"...This will tell you the firmware that is installed. Latest version for the P3 Pro is 1.9.60 and the latest version for the RC is 1.6.0.
If you've already got those installed, it may be that your new battery needs updating....to do that, you need to download 1.9.60 from the DJI page onto a micro SD card and put it in the P3, and then start up the P3 with the new battery in.