Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Firmware update failing

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by wilbev, Apr 26, 2014.

  1. wilbev

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I attempted to update to the 3.0 firmware by downloading the Phantom 2 Assistant 3.0 software. When I click to update to 3.0 it starts it's process and then I notice in the lower left windows flashes about USB device unrecognized and shortly after that the phantom starts a very annoying constant beeping and then tells me to power cycle since the upgrade failed. I couldn't find anyone having a similar problem. Could it be having some kind of driver issue with computer?
     
  2. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Usually that annoying noise is it loading and when you get message to reboot means it's loaded.
     
  3. wilbev

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    But it tells me the update failed and when I open up the Assistant software it still shows upgrade to 3.0
     
  4. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Did you load the drivers first? (sorry had to ask) If so, try loading default and attempt update again. Assistant software -> Tools - load default settings.
     
  5. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Go to info screen in assistant software, does it say there your versions are updated?
     
  6. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Mine did that too. Failed when trying to update , phantom went red, annoying beep, told me it failed, and to power cycle.

    I did it a few times, nothi, always failed. But... Then... I turned it off, waited a few moments longer, unplugged the phantom from my windows machine, cussed, looked for my sledge hammer... Plugged the phantom back in, turned it on, loaded the 3.0 assistant once again, and bang, it updated properly.

    Weird... Just unplug the beast for a bit, shut it down for 30secs or more, the try it again. It should rectify itself.
     
  7. wilbev

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I think I'm really screwed. So now when I power on, all it does is that annoying beep and that's it's. So it's no longer functional. Is there any way I can reset it so the annoying beep goes away and so I can update the firmware?
     
  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Is it just a loud repetitive beeping? BEEP...........BEEP..........BEEP...........nonstop? If so, it means the NAZA isn't powered on, but the rest of the Phantom has power.
     
  9. wilbev

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that is exactly what it is. So how do I get the NAZA powering back on? I assume this was caused from the failed firmware upgrade and now it has either corrupt firmware or is some kind of limbo stage. What are my options here to get back to a stable firmware?
     
  10. ashleyg

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm getting same thing today
     
  11. wilbev

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was this also caused from the 3.0 firmware update failing?
     
  12. ashleyg

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone having issues with this? plugged in my other P2H3 and it says checking for P330CB, then automatically does an update, then shows that I need to install firmware updates that I have already done, and then won't let me update.
     
  13. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I haven't come across this yet but I would suggest confirming the USB connection is working properly and the drivers are properly loaded. Try another USB port or a different computer if you can.
     
  14. ashleyg

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you plugged in the last 24 hours ianwood?