Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Firmware out of the box

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by tailspin, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. tailspin

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read so much about how awful DJI support is so I'm leaning on y'all...

    Prior to PH 1.1.1 arriving yesterday, I downloaded and installed DJI assistant 2.20 from the DJI Phantom 1 downloads site. It's running on a Windows 8.1 laptop, fairly new.

    I charged my batteries (finally), started up Assistant, powered on the transmitter, and connected the PH to the laptop. Then I connected power to the PH. When I click on Upgrade, there is no indication of current firmware and when I click on the "No updates" link I get "Please connect to the controller!" (see attached)

    After all the flyaway scares, I'm terrified of first flight w/out confirming the firmware.

    What can/should I do?

    Thanks in advance,

    Brian
     

    Attached Files:

  2. tailspin

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Follow-up:

    I tried all the above using my son's laptop. Same result. Ugh....

    B
     
  3. tailspin

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another follow-up:

    I tried calibrating the joysticks just to see if the Assistant was responding. Upon clicking "Start" there were no indications that the joysticks were responding. :(
     
  4. tailspin

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, sorry to talk myself out loud here. I didn't install the driver. All good now... :/
     
  5. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry you had to figure it out on your own, but yes it was the driver installation (big help I am, no?). While it's great to finally sort out problems for yourself, hopefully we can be for some assistance in the future :) i somehow didn't see your post or I would have responded sooner.