Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Firmware location on P3S

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Paul Schulze, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. Paul Schulze

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    13
    When I download firmware and before linking to P3S, where is the firmware stored on an iPad 3 mini? Is it stored within DJI Go app or a file somewhere else?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Good question, It gets loaded on the SD card after you connect and tell it to update. If you want to find it on your ios "ifunbox" would be the route I would try. I can't try till I get home tonight. I used Ifunbox to get DJI-Go on the IPad 2 when the apple store wouldn't let me download it. I don't recommend using IPad 2 but at least it will get you flying. Ifunbox lets you look at you device like as a file manager.

    I will find a link.

    Added: Will a Phantom 3 fly and film without a mobile device?
     
  3. Paul Schulze

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    13
    On the P3S, the iPad and RC are not linked during the initial download. I was wondering where it is being stored before linking RC to iPad via wifi? In other words,where is it on the iPad?
     
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Yes, I thought that is what you were asking, iFunbox is how I would look for it, I ended up working on other stuff when I got home. I will try tonight.

    Added:
    Here is a picture from iFunbox, connected to a iPad 2 and Windows XP.
    IMG_5829.JPG
     
    #4 RodPad, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
  5. Paul Schulze

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    13
    Learned something new. Can use iExplorer on Mac as well. Thanks
     
  6. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Sorry, don't know, I have never used a Mac