Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by magick, Apr 6, 2014.

  1. magick

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Did anybody noticed this today ?

    DJI haven't announced the release of firmware and assistant software 3.0 but the firmware is downloadable from the assistant s/w 2.0.

    And if you upgrade to firmware 3.0 w/o the assistant s/w 3.0 it will give u a version mismatch! What is DJI doing ?????
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      137.4 KB
      Views:
      1,508
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      80 KB
      Views:
      1,528
  2. Fink

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    :shock:

    These are the reasons I don't upgrade my firmware unless I'm having issues. I'm still on 1.8 and, with my fingers crossed, everything is working perfectly well.

    Can't wait to see what others have to say...

    [​IMG]

    Fink[​IMG]
     
  3. magick

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    somebody in DJI must be drunk. press wrong button to live the firmware.

    2.0 autolanding better (not bouncing like a ball) but I been reading post that some pilots around the world having issue with 2.0.
     
  4. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yeah, 2.0 gave me some grief. It appears that 3.0 just adds more flight restrictions. Until or IF we get way points, I'm going to hold off.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Almmohd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    Hmm I'm leaving that alone :O


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    Where's the fun in that? :)

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  7. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    I can only see ver 2 of Assistant and firmware on the site. Must have been pulled.

    Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk
     
  8. magick

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    the v3 firmware only show up in the assistant software 2.0 which is weird. Not up on their official DJI.com website yet.
     
  9. mysticalice

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried updating my firmware for the first time since getting my Phantom.

    When I try clicking on 'view', 'basic', advanced, or tools, I get an error that "You must update Main Controller firmware to new version".

    I don't know what i'm missing, but it appears I have the most recent firmware (v3.00) and updated firmware on P300CB of 1.0.1.24

    What am I missing?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. camramnky

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so I upgraded without seeing this and now I am stuck. Is there a way to downgrade the firmware?
     
  11. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    This is something I'd like to know also. I did find a method where you were supposed to open the software assistant and click here, type this and blah, blah, blah. But that option seems to have be removed from the software.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  12. magick

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    I think the v3.0 firmware been released by mistake by the DJI people. Dun think it is their final release as there was no email announcement.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  13. mcmax20

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the people who already upgraded to 3.0. Can you downgrade to 1.8 using the old assistant and then upgrade back to 2.0? Kind of a hassle but seems logical to me.
     
  14. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    So I see it too. I just got my new GoPro back from repair and just updated my bird Friday to 2.0. Now today it is offering 3.0 What gives? Have anyone updated successfully?

    I wonder what is in the "Special areas restriction section".
     
  15. magick

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    Dont upgrade to firmware 3.0 yet as the assistant software 3.0 still not out. U need both to be 3.0 in order to work


    Sent via Tapatalk
     
  16. magick

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    Dont upgrade to firmware 3.0 yet as the assistant software 3.0 still not out. U need both to be 3.0 in order to work


    Sent via Tapatalk
     
  17. magick

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Re: Firmware 3.0 & Assistant Software 3.0 ??

    Dont upgrade to firmware 3.0 yet as the assistant software 3.0 still not out. U need both to be 3.0 in order to work


    Sent via Tapatalk
     
  18. KassioLM

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brasil - Dec -23
    The update have some restrictions of special areas you can fly, I live near of an air port about 2 km, I'll wait to update when I have more info about to such restrictions as it usually takeoff of my house for test flights.
     
  19. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
  20. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Seriously, this company is all over the place. Putting aside for a moment; bad support, terrible documentation, glitchy software, and confusing firmware updates...

    I've just watched a random video showing off a Phantom Vision Plus, which also appears in this new firmware's notes. Yet there is nothing on the website showing this model. Weird way to notify the public of a new product line. A small aside, Lightbridge is nowhere to be found on the DJI site which is puzzling.

    The annoying thing is, when I fork out for a new H3-3D (which DJI is currently only selling to new Phantom purchasers, nice way to show support for your existing customer base) I will have to upgrade to this firmware and judging by the issues some were having with 2.0 this worries me.

    Sort your ish out for ***** sake :roll: