Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Finally, hit the advertised 2k/1.2 miles this morning

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by 30secs, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    It was really nice.. Until I hit my limit and rth. Lost signal pretty much the entire way back but the distance kept updating.. then I finally saw it hovering above my head. Love this thing.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 30secs, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015
  2. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    Also, I just noticed that the dji app flight record didn't record the flight at it's length. It shows two entries with 40ft alt and 0 distance. What's that about?
     
    #2 30secs, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015
  3. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    see what it says....

    Screen Shot 2015-07-12 at 13.56.28.png
     
  4. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    That's because I forgot my SD card and used my slow backup one. It doesn't affect the flight. You can see it was recording for 3 minutes at that time.
     
  5. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    Here a screenshot. I flew for over 10 minutes and 13000 feet. Any idea why it doesn't show it or how I can retrieve it?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. dysan911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    60
    What firmware version is your P3 on?
     
  7. cleaner1369

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    70
    I got a mile, easily, with my P3Pro (before the firmware meltdown). From the park at 61st St, I could easily run it all the way to the intersection of 71st St (exactly 1 mile) and even then it was ME that chickened out and brought it back. I will had a strong R/C signal and a strong FPV signal. I just didn't want to fly it over a major intersection or populated areas.

    For other members of this esteemed forum who have rightfully got tired of my rants; I LOVE my P3Pro...I just want it BACK the way it was when I bought it instead of this "Tourette's twirly-gig" that the last firmware "update" rendered it.

    Waiting for the firmware fix, waiting, waiting, waiting.
     
  8. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    Latest everything and using Android.

    I have no idea why it didn't record the flight properly. Has this happened to sometime else?

    I would like to retrieve that record plus if this is a bug or an issue with the app we should know about it. Imagine something happened to the quad and there wasn't a flight record to confirm it even flew?! Pretty unsettling.
     
  9. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    Nice pic. What pier is that?
     
  10. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It won't keep the flight record if the app crashed at all.
    It can restart so quickly you *might* miss it.