Filter issue - wash out

Reaction score
Please help me understand what setting I missed or mis-understood. I am not a professional photographer and don't need fine tuning advice yet - just playing with the high-level things I have learned so far to get better video. So, taking several bits of advice from here and youtube - I did this:

set to manual
ISO to 100
video to 2K and 24fps
shutter set to 50
white balance set to auto

Issue: I put on an ND4 filter (because I thought my camera readings said +2 stops and it was mid-day, light overcast). But my recorded video and phone video where completed washed out - most white. Could make out trees, but river and sky white. What happened? Took filter off and set back to Auto and it was good again.

Thanks for any help!

Probably too little filter. Try this, with no filter and the camera in auto, set the ev to 0 and record the shutter speed. then figure out how much filtering you need to bring the shutter down to your target value (such as 1/50). So, if the shutter is at, say 250, then an ND4 (2 stops) would bring the shutter down to around 1/60 (each stop gives you 1/2 the exposure). If the shutter is around 1/1000, you would need an ND16 filter to get the shutter speed down to your target. I have an old handheld meter that my wife gave me almost 50 years ago that i use to gauge the scene and then pick a filter. Keep a record in my log book too of meter settings, filters used and how i like the results.

Thank you. That makes sense. I did not think to try a stronger filter. I was assuming since it was so washed out, that I had messed up another setting. Also, if currently I only have up to an ND8, what other value I have above might I adjust to use it in this situation?