Filming/Photo Advice for Upcoming Event

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I am still kinda new to filming "events" and would like to see if anyone has any suggestions for unique shots/angles, etc. with my P3A.
I am shooting a road bicycle event on a closed road.
I was thinking one shot could be in front of the lead rider, flying backwards for a moment to get a good shot, and then rising in altitude to continue shooting the entire pack of riders.
I was thinking of using Airnest for this and plotting in waypoints to follow the pack as it is a set course along a closed roadway. I could also use the Vertical app to track the pack.
I guess the following of the lead rider at the beginning would be done by me manually.
Anyone have any other suggestions/advice?

Low level to high level pan outs are always good - try flying sideways as well, showing the speed of the leader, then fly back and up to get in the whole pack. Make sure there are no other drones at the event - it's easy to lose which one is yours while looking back and forth from FPV.

I do a lot of cycling films because I'm a bike rider myself :D So I kinda made a name into the action sports drone filming around here, maybe I can help you.

First, do a deep survey of the area checking for obstacles like trees, cables, power poles, anything that could be in the way of your quad. That's very important I've seen many pilots crashing their drones for not taking this seriously. I've used Vertical Studio's WALL feature to stay clear of buildings and other obstacles, it's a handy feature no other app has (as far as I know).