Fear of Heights

Reaction score
I am a real estate photographer and bought a P3S 3 weeks ago in order to add aerial photography to my business. I'm practicing every day but have run into a slight problem - I seem to have a psychological aversion to flying high and over the tops of the homes I'm filming. I'm a photographer at heart and the drone is simply a tool to get my camera in the air. Has anyone else experienced this 'barrier'? Do I just need more stick time to conquer this fear?

I am a real estate photographer and bought a P3S 3 weeks ago in order to add aerial photography to my business. I'm practicing every day but have run into a slight problem - I seem to have a psychological aversion to flying high and over the tops of the homes I'm filming.
The Phantom has no fear .. it goes wherever you send it.
But for most real estate shooting you should avoid going too high anyway unless you want to show a map-like view of the whole property.
Too many beginners shoot from too high and the result is that you just show the roof.
No-one is wanting to buy the roof ... they want to see the house and its setting.
You'll get the best results from 10-40 feet in most situations

Reactions: Airbroker
I would suggest you go to rural land, a large open sports field or park and get some more air time and you will overcome that fear. It just takes a little experience and you will wonder why you were so bothered by it in the first place. :D

Well, most Phantom owners would say that as long as you can still see your Phantom there is no reason to worry. If you fly over a house, just keep it high enough to keep it in sight. If you wish to fly at roof height over a house than just ensure your surrounds are clear before trying and your worries will dissapear. If there are trees around just be sure to fly higher than the trees.