Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FCC mode Question??

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Gonefishing51077, Nov 27, 2014.

  1. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok. On the back of my remote I have 2 holes. One is above the other. When I turn in remote it beeps twice to indicate that I'm in FCC mode. But I can turn the knob in both holes all the way to the left and turn on remote still beeps twice. If I turn the knobs all the way to the right it still beeps twice. So my question is which direction gives me the most power??

    Thanks.
     
  2. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116
    Fcc, two beeps gives more distance
     
  3. CyberCitizen

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Two Beeps = FCC = More Tx Power = More Distance.

    You Can Change Via Phantom Software As Well, Which I Found Easier.
     
  4. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm not seeing it in the software.

    It does beep twice but does it matter which direction the knobs on the back are turned? Reguardless of which way I turn them the remote will still beep twice when powered on. Does it get more power when turned counter clockwise or clockwise??
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    This is clearly explained in the current manual (section 5.8).
    Reading it there is faster and more certain than asking poorly worded questions and deciphering confused answers on a forum.
     
  6. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would agree but I do not have my owners manual with me.

    I do believe Forums were made to ask questions and sharing ideas.
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
  8. lsteigerwalt

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sumter South Carolina
    I think we are missing the point of his question...he states that he can turn the screws either way and still get two beeps...is the software overiding the screw?
     
  9. COtto1984

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just received the new version this morning and can report mine is doing the same thing. I'm getting two beeps not matter what.
     
  10. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Count me in no matter what way the knobs are it still beeps twice
     
  11. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    The second hole is for the gimbal vertical control should you later decide to install and use it. Power for the gimbal is turned on in the software. Most if not all the US quads are setup with switch setting in the FCC position now. That is why you SHOULD be getting two beeps on transmitter startup.
     
  12. COtto1984

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even if I turn the knob to the left, I'm still getting two beeps. I completely understand that it may come with FCC as the default setting, but the screw does not seem to make any impact when I turn it left or right.
     
  13. MapMaker53

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I found the same thing. The software appears to be override that screw.
     
  14. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116
    It is not. That's the way it works (according manual).

    To get to "CE" mode, your firmware setting (RC Assistant) and your hardware (screw) needs to match. If there's a mismatch, it'll default to FCC mode.

    Since DJI ships in FCC mode (both firmware & hardware), him turning he screw w/o changing the firmware setting will result in either both firmware & hardware in FCC mode or a mismatch which will result in defaulting to FCC mode.

    I would suggest reading the manual.
     
  15. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116
    It doesn't.
     
  16. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116
    Boy, you guys don't really read the instruction on the software eh?

    Screen shot taken directly from RC Assistant software. Please see highlighted part.
     

    Attached Files:

    • FCC.jpg
      FCC.jpg
      File size:
      46.2 KB
      Views:
      85
  17. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116
    Bottom Line:

    If you want to be able to toggle between FCC & CE mode via screw on your controller. Set the firmware (via RC Assistant) to CE mode. Then when you turn your hardware screw to CE mode, the 2 settings match and you are in CE mode and if you turn your screw to FCC mode, the two settings contradict and the default is set to FCC.

    However, if you set your firmware (via RC Assistant) to FCC mode, the screw will appear as if having no effect. Because if you turn the screw to FCC mode, both settings match and you are in FCC mode but if you turn the screw to CE mode, the two settings (firmware vs. hardware) contradict and thus defaulting to FCC mode. So the net result is that you always get FCC mode.
     
  18. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yawalot

    Thank you for your information. I have not seen that screen.