Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fc40 with Gropro question

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by thevolkp, Oct 5, 2014.

  1. thevolkp

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a gopro black on the way. From all I read I think I will use the Fc40 for FPV and use Gropro for videoing and stills. Do you have another wireless device to control the gopro?
     
  2. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    I used my GoPro along with my standard FC40 camera for FPV. I moved my GoPro back to get it under the center of gravity and used 2 plastic plates I made to attach both cameras to it. The FC40 camera mount was inverted and rode in front of the battery door. Both cameras were fixed. I just pointed them at the same angle.

    Since then I have upgraded to a gimbal and a proper FPV using it. I got a 400 mw Boscam transmitter and receiver for about $55 and a backup monitor (like they use for backup cameras in cars) for about $25. I upgraded the antenna on the receiver for about $10. I'll post links if you are interested.

    The only other thing needed is a cable from the GoPro to the transmitter. I got the wrong one, but I adapted.

    I'll post a photo of my 2 camera mount, too, if you like.
     
  3. Charger22

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    Post it all up. Always looking for cool ideas
     
  4. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    I'm controlling my GoPro with an inexpensive google android.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00L85 ... UTF8&psc=1
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GI9 ... UTF8&psc=1

    There is a lag in the video which gets worse and choppy with distance but "for me" it works up to about 1,000' then it looses signal from the GoPro.
    I'm in the country with no other radio interference.

    How do you plan to attach the GoPro to the bird?
    The waterproof case mounted on mine right where the FC40 camera mounts.
    You may want to program the GoPro for upside down video/photo. It's easier than turning your monitor over to watch the video. :D

    I picked up a cheap Chinese gimbal and then needed to install taller landing gear for ground clearance because of the rough terrain here.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GAY ... UTF8&psc=1
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JPC ... UTF8&psc=1

    I'm thinking you will enjoy your new camera, the photos & video are really good.
     
  5. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    Transmitter - receiver

    http://www.banggood.com/Boscam-2_4G...ransmitter-Receiver-TS321+RC302-p-916790.html

    Monitor

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007SLDF7O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Receiver antenna

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004UBUE2O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Two cameras. Mount is just 2 pieces of plastic that slide into the slots of the original camera mount, ,with holes drilled for it, at the bottom rear and front for the GoPro and FC40 cameras, respectively.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Charger22

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    Very creative and simple. What is the range you get ?
     
  7. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    +1 I'm real curious about the range as well... :?:
     
  8. Molokai

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    29
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    If someone sold this piece I would buy it. As in, manufactured.
     
  9. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    There's nothing to manufacture, really. I had some 1/16" Kydex laying around. I used 2 pieces for each slot, to make them thick enough. I cut the front to allow the battery door to open.

    Find some plastic sheet 1/8" thick, print out the photo, resizing so the ruler in the photo more or less matches up with an actual ruler and use as a template. Make 2 pieces. Mark the placement of the hole to hold them onto the FC40 to fit your situation.

    As for materials, be creative. A square bucket or bowl may work.

    You need to put the FC40 camera in it's older upside down. This is no problem other than you can't press the buttons while it's in there. I linked the camera and started it recording before I put it in there.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro question

    Range on the Boscam FPV? I had it out to 2,372 feet, maximum height of 266 feet with no loss of video signal. No obstructions.

    On the other hand, I flew it out 500 feet or so and had some loss of signal on another flight.

    The nice thing about a real FPV setup is that if you do lose the signal. it comes right back when you get back into range. And if you have a gimbal, you can see exactly what the GoPro sees, even when you tilt it up or down.

    Here my Flytrex flight from my test. I guess I was about 136 feet up when I was at maximum distance. There used to be a huge factory where this field is now.

    http://www.flytrex.com/mission/quadcopter-phantom-fc40-darwin-teague-71997/