Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FC40 upgrade

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by OEKA, Nov 23, 2014.

  1. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello.

    I now have a phantom FC40 and I'm pretty happy with the drone.

    I'm thinking to update my FC40. I have a gopro 3 silver now and I have ordered a cheap Chinese gimbal.
    http://www.banggood.com/FPV-2-Axis-Brus ... 08068.html

    My goal is to have a good FPV solution with good reach, within a reasonable price.

    1. Which transmitter & Reciver should I choose? 1.2G or 2.4G?
    http://www.banggood.com/FPV-1_2G-8CH-80 ... 73201.html
    http://www.banggood.com/Boscam-2_4G-8CH ... 16790.html

    2. To achieve IOSD / telemetry, do i have to purchase an Naza PMU, or are there other solutions?
    http://www.banggood.com/DJI-iOSD-mini-M ... 08007.html
    http://www.helipal.com/dji-naza-m-pmu-v2.html

    3. If I use my gopro that camera, I can connect the camera via IOSD and the transmitter and see stats on the ground?

    4. Recommended that I use an upgraded battery (3000mAh or more) or parallel connect two batteries and mount on the side of the quad?

    4. I am thinking about buying a very simple screen.
    http://www.banggood.com/FPV-4_3-Inch-TF ... 40817.html

    5. Will all this work together, or have I misunderstood completely?

    Sorry for all the question, hope to get the most answers possible.
    Sincerely

    Oyvind
     
  2. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    You could always change the main board in the FC40 for a P2 vision board for almost the same cost of a PMU unit, then you can use the added functions of this saves a load of delicate soldering.... :D I use 1.2meg video rx-tx stuff its far better when your behind an obsticle- ie doesn't go off!
     
  3. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there no other way to get OSD? Do i have to upgrade my mainboard or buy a PMU?

    Another question, how many units can i power of my fc40 mainboard (12v)?

    Thanks
     
  4. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    To use an iOSD, you need a CAN bus. To get that, you need either a PMU V2, a P1 Upgrade board, or a P2 main board. The latter is cheapest, and offers the most.

    The main board is where the battery cable and ESCs all connect together for power. You can power up as much as your battery can supply from it.
     
  5. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hello Oyvind,

    Good questions. I've asked a number of them as well because I would like to do something similar.

    I picked up a cheap Chinese gimbal for a few bucks more @ Amazon. It works well with my GoPro. The Amazon page says 205, my scale says 199.5 grams.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GAY ... UTF8&psc=1

    I looked at your transmitter links and the 52 gram weight on the Boscam looks good. The other did not offer weight info. What kind of range are you looking for, 1000 feet, 1 mile, more?

    You might want to take a look at this for a CAN Bus port option. ;)
    http://www.sarawuth.com/2014/01/dji-pha ... -bus-port/

    I understand the GoPro, IOSD, and transmitter will all work together and give you what you want. Hopefully I understood correctly.

    I like the 4000 mah MultiStar by Turnigy, $25. There is a slight modification required. You must enlarge the battery compartment opening. I've also removed the battery door and now I secure the battery in place with a small piece of wire. It's a long battery.

    I'm betting you are going to wish you bought a bigger screen. 4.7 inches seems small to me especially considering the wide angle of the GoPro. Things are going to be really small on screen.

    I hope you've figured this out correctly. It sounds like we have both come to the same conclusions.
    What elevation will you typically be taking off from? Weight seriously affects flight time at 6,000 feet, where I fly.
    Have you made any modifications yet? I'm interested in your outcome.

    I've upgraded to the 9450 props and am very pleased with how they perform at this altitude.

    Good Luck,
     
  6. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow. Thanks for your feedback.
    Gimbal (http://bit.ly/1FIhqmJ) and tx / rx (http://ebay.to/1twHZFI) is on the way from China (bang good and eBay).
    I think I will upgrade the battery and propellers in the future, but first I'll get a complete FPV setup.

    If the screen does not work as i want its not a problem. I just get another one, the one i bought is silly cheap! :p http://bit.ly/1yxGtro

    I do not think I will acquire IOSD soon. But I might get a simpler OSD solution that mainly gives me voltage, so I do not need to worry about running out of juice. I was thinking about this one: http://bit.ly/1vCPtLU
    I can easily connect this OSD on the FC40? If yes, it is just to run video from gopro -> OSD -> transmitter and connect the OSD to the battery?

    I have not made any mods yet, just painted the prop guards red. Im not flying that high yet, my highest flight is about 500 feet.

    And one last question. How many minutes do you guess i will get with the gimbal, tx, and gopro on the stock 2200mah battery?

    Sorry for all the questions, i really appreciate all the answers i can get! :D

    Oyvind
     
  7. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
  8. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hello again Oyvind,
    Good find. That OSD module looks like the best way to add OSD to the FC40. :D
    I think I will give this option a closer look.

    Check the price at this site.
    http://www.goodluckbuy.com/fpv-flight-c ... e-gps.html


    The CAN Bus hack I had previously mentioned does not apply to my circuit board. :(
     
  9. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi again.

    I have done some mods since we last talked. Now i want to get a OSD system without buying the pmu and IOSD modules.. Will Thanks for the link, will buy this product :)

     
  10. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    Thanks for the info folks. Just ordered the same one for my FC40.

    cheers
    jan
     
  11. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    Hi all, just wondering because I did not get a chance to look at everything yet, but what other equipment is needed other than the OSD module?
     
  12. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play

    http://www.goodluckbuy.com/fpv-flight-c ... e-gps.html

    A picture is worth a thousand words.


    Kinda looks too good to be true, but it's about darn time.
    No CAN Bus hack, No changing the circuit board, No more beating my head against the wall.

    FPV with OSD on an FC40... Ahhhh, life is good :D
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    Awesome! When I originally saw this, I was thinking there is no way this is all it needs and there was going to be more work to get this to work. Please post pics of your setup once you are finished!
     
  14. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    Sorry for slamming this thread, but you guys made me excited. I'm really happy this can be done without soldering so I got all of the parts together hopefully it can be of use to some of you. Thank you all again for post the OSD module :D

    Parts List:

    Screen --> http://www.banggood.com/FPV-4_3-Inch-TF ... 40817.html

    Battery pack for Screen --> http://www.ebay.com/itm/221489088518?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT

    transmitter---> http://www.ebay.com/itm/BOSCAM-RC802-Mi ... 27e7d4301d

    Flight Controller (Awesome find!!!)---> http://www.goodluckbuy.com/fpv-flight-c ... e-gps.html

    Double Deck mounting plate for video transmitter and extra battery ----> http://www.ebay.com/itm/281362531614?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT

    Optional Mounting Plate ----> http://www.ebay.com/itm/191295238357?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT
     
  15. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use the same screen and Tx/Rx. Actually got my first flight yesterday. Worked great at night, still got a very nice picture. Some might say that this screen is to small, but for me is works. (Might upgrade later thou) ;p

    I did get some cutting and white noise after reaching about 100 meters with the boscam system. I have ordered some new antennas, hope this will get me more range and less chopping. Still, happy with the product!

    Going on a nightflight tonight, i am going to try out my new bronto 3000mah battery! :)

    Oyvind
     
  16. gabimaor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    a few question please:

    what are the benefits of replacing the main board to P2 over adding a PMU?

    did anyone know of someone who used this OSD model on a FC40?

    did someone tried to replace the onboard receiver to an external one and use a regular remote 2.4?

    doesnt a 2.4 or 1.2 video TX/RX have limited range?
     
  17. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
     
  18. gabimaor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.
    Still, I remember reading that lower frequency does penetrate but is limited as far as range.
    I have a Pmu ordered. Do you think it's better to install a p2 main board? Will the iosd connect to it directly?
     
  19. bkcberry

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys! Been reading this site for a week waiting for my FC40 to come in, lots of really useful info!

    Just for clarification- you're all using GoPros for this FPV setup, right? Not the *actual* FC40 camera?
     
  20. OEKA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah :)