Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FC40 Stock Camera Gimbal

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by mebco, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. mebco

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    New FC40 owner and would like to use the FC40 camera on a gimbal. Could someone point me in the right direction that would NOT involve a mod.
     
  2. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    Simple, get a Feiyutech 2-Axis Brushless Gimbal for GoPro ,had one prior to it getting stolen,great kit it just works end off, there two wires to connect to the red and grey wires hiding in a leg already , just look...
     
  3. aardpig

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Tarot gimbal on order, with an adapter plate which allows it to attach to the bottom of a Phantom. It's designed for a GoPro, but I intend to use it with the FC40 cam, at least to start off with. My understanding is that I'll be able to plug the gimbal into the aux power wires, and control the tilt function using a couple of servo wires to the Naza.
     
  4. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    see the walkera gimbal thread and i have put some photos there.
     
  5. KimBrown

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dover, Kent, UK.
    I want a gimbal, but like allot of people am on a tight bugget.
    So was thinking of making one on the 3D printer to accept the FC40 camera.
    Do regular servos connect ok to the Naza?
    Haven't had my FC40 long so haven't had the lid off yet, and not got it near to see if it would work with servos.
     
  6. lostkiwi

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    You also need a control board to drive the servos. Servos on their own won't help.
     
  7. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    And an angle sensor.

    You can get a gimbal for £60 delivered or less.
    Better to go down that route.
     
  8. mebco

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the suggestions! I will follow your advice and get one on order. I will leave an update when installed. Thanks again for prompt replys!
     
  9. KimBrown

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dover, Kent, UK.
    Hmmmmm any idea where I can find some info on a board to drive servos?
     
  10. mikey

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just some clarification on the use of gimbals.

    The walkera g-d2: this gimbal is fairly plug and play? Can you simply take off the existing hardware which holds the fc40 camera, mount the new gimbal, and connect the power (which I'm assuming is for the camera) and a way you go (no tilt option powered up). My understanding this will make the video much smoother (not as jittery). People talk about having tilt option with this gimbal as a matter of connecting two more wires. Someone said those wires connect to two wires found in one of the legs? Also people say to connect these to the naza? Do either one of these methods require soldering?

    Also one other thing. This gimbal seems to be made for a hero, does the fc40 camera also mount easy? I'm wanting to purchase a fc40 and possibly a gimbal for it, but it's not in the budget to purchase a new camera as well.

    Also, if someone knows of a handy installation video link that would be great.

    Thanks.
     
  11. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    The gimbal takes its power off the cable just inside one of the legs.
    You do not need any other hardware, remove the stock camera clamps etc.

    If you want tilt control then you have to enable that in software and take a wire from the nazam to the gimbal.

    I fitted the walkera gimbal last week, i fitted the stock camera in the gimbal, see my photos on the walkera gimbal thread.