FC40 camera bad out of the box?

Reaction score
I'm brand new to the quadcopter world having bought a FC40 last week. I charged the camera (got the flashing red light until it went dark) and then turned the camera on- the LED Status and Wi Fi light started to rapidly flash green, and that's all it does. The phone (with the DJI FC40 app installed) naturally does not see a FC40 wi Fi network out there. BTW all this was done while the phantom itself remained unpowered. I did contact the dealer but haven't heard back yet. If anyone has any ideas I'd appreciate hearing them. Thanks.

It's an iPhone4, updated to a 7. I followed your advice and tried to pickup the camera in Airplane mode. The result is the same, I get the flashing green light until it times out.

I'm assuming you know but just in case... It will flash green for a while before turning to a solid green. Has it ever turned solid green or does it just keep flashing green? Mine seems to take up to a minute at times before it turns solid green..

Hi, just a quick note you may need to go into iPhone system settings and connect to the wifi signal before you launch the iPhone app, I have 5c and have to do the same, then it will pick up the camera hope that helps

Wait until the green light is SOLID green.
Go in settings / wifi
You will see a new available network similar to FCxxxxxxxx
Connect to it.
Open the FC40 app.
Press on the new wifi name.

You're done.

jerrymac12000 said:
Are you saying that you opened the wifi connection on your cell phone, tablet, etc. that there was NO FCxxxxxxxxx listed?

That's correct. In the Wi Fi box there is no FCxxxxxxxxxx listed anywhere. I see my home network, and my neighbors, but no FC network. Wi Fi is enabled and I've tried it under both Airplane and non Airplane mode.

jetdust said: