Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

fc 40 motors on full revs till shut down.

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Help' started by jevd, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. jevd

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    new zealand
    history fc40 was in suit case on long flight,when unpacked seemed wrong asked for compass calebration
    reset it then asked again .that seemed fixed but was still not quite wright .so upgraded nazam 2.40
    locked on to full satellites had propellers off and revved motors ok then they idled .Revved motors for 2 seconds on full but when released they kept at full revs no props on only way to stop was shut down .tried in all position on s1 s2 please help had fc40 2 years no problem but I don't fully understand the workings, afraid if it dose this on fight it would just keep going up
    regards jevd
     
    #1 jevd, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    The FC is trying to fly your aircraft but you have no props on it.
    You cannot make such evaluations with the props removed and it sitting static on the ground.

    It does not know you are trying to test something.
     
  3. jevd

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    new zealand
    thanks for reply have tried it with props on but holding down same happens .are you saying the only way to test it is in full flight knowing the motors may stick on full lift
     
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    The flight controller is a closed-loop system. Once you give it an input it expects to sense a change or it keeps on trying.

    It's not likely that the motors will 'stick on full lift' because it is acting like this while stuck to the ground.
     
  5. jevd

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    new zealand
    thanks a lot will try it tomorrow will it be ok to tie a thin string to it to be safe you have put my mind at rest I hope you realizes how much it means to us learners for your help and advise and we so much
    appreciate the time you give us rgards jevd
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Be careful with the string. I don't suggest it but just be careful and as soon as you see it's ok get rid if it.
    Having it wrap up in a prop will not be good.
     
  7. jevd

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    new zealand
    cheers and thanks again at 76 years old I would not be able to take part in these electrical things and 3d printers without you kind regards john
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    No problem Sir. At 54 I can only hope to see first-hand what 76 (and beyond) is like!
     
  9. sherpa

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    White Lake, Mi
    I tether mine whenever I change anything. Go up 5 or 6 ft to just see how things go.
     
  10. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    How many times has it tried to fly away and that the tether prevented it?
     
  11. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hello jevd, welcome to the party. :D

    Please visit this page about idling the phantom, it's a BIG NO NO. :eek::eek:
    I realize that is not your issue, but it will be an issue if you don't know this information.
    http://www.wynotweb.com/Bad_Phantom.html

    As far as the issues of the motors seeming to have a mind of their own, well they do, it's called NAZA.
    When you start the motors, the Phantom expects to fly. If you add throttle, it will do it's best to climb.
    That means the FC ( Flight Controller = NAZA Module) will continue increasing RPM until the Phantom climbs. It's NOT like the accelerator on a car.

    Tethering a Phantom is tricky business. You have been warned.
    Here is an option to the string.
    You can go into the NAZA assistant, select the ADVANCED tab, select the LIMITS tab and set your height and distance limits very low, maybe like 15 meters for max height, and 30 meters for max radius. That's like having an invisible string.

    Keep in mind, if you lift off from under a tree, should RTH (return to home / Failsafe ) be used, the Phantom will descend right into the tree.

    Enjoy the show, and PLEASE try the links in my signature for an easy way to find some answers.

    Happy flying, find a big open space... :D
     
    sherpa likes this.
  12. jevd

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    new zealand
    brilliant idea have now set height to 15 m and radius to 10m if it works it cant go far will try it in morning thanks
     
    sherpa likes this.
  13. sherpa

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    White Lake, Mi
    Brilliant! I will go and tether no more!
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  14. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    10 Meters isn't enough. I can't remember why at the moment, 11 meters would work though.

    I may be wrong.
     
  15. jevd

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    new zealand
    ok I will set to 15m radius like you first said cheers
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  16. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    So, when are we going to see some pics or vids of that beautiful country you live in? :)

    From your FC40 of course. Anything else is just a picture or a video... :rolleyes:
     
  17. HOLLOWAY1482

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine is doing the same
     
  18. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Ohhhh.

    This is a very common problem and can be fixed immediately.

    Put the props on ;) !

    You cannot evaluate control response when sitting on the ground with no props OR tied to the ground with props.
    IT MUST BE AIRBORNE!

    You are 'telling' the a/c to climb by advancing the throttle but it doesn't sense climbing so it keeps trying.

    This was explained a few posts up already.
     
  19. HOLLOWAY1482

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have put the compass on the wrong leg
     
  20. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    The compass is not responsible for the issue in the video.

    However it is important to remount in proper orientation.
     
    HOLLOWAY1482 likes this.