Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Faulty Gimbal

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by extrememc, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. extrememc

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Phantom Pilots,

    My H3-2D acts like it is losing power in flight. Sometimes I have control of the gimbal using the slider and sometime no function at all. Here is a link to a video of what's happening.

    https://vimeo.com/106339132
     
  2. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    It looks like it is going into protect mode. Has it got any crash damage or dust ingress?

    Check to see if the motors turn freely in all directions. If not, get an aerosol air cleaner and blow out the motor housings. You may also have a lightly bent shaft causing the motor to bind at a certain point, putting the whole gimbal into protect mode.

    Probably worth updating the firmware and also doing the control calibration on the remote and the quad itself.
     
  3. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    +1
     
  4. extrememc

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    No crashes. I plan to do a cal on quad this weekend.
     
  5. Jeff Clack

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had the same thing happen to me. It was actually the power supply on the MB for the Phantom. It affected the FPV range too.
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    :shock: Wow, interesting...how did you manage to diagnose that? P1 or P2? Did you just replace the mainboard or use a workaround?