Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

False battery temp reading and fast discharge

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by dragon16, Sep 16, 2016.

1. dragon16

Hi all,

I'm new to the Phantom, having only had mine for a week or so, and hoping that I'm just missing something obvious here. I've spent a good amount of time and effort searching here and elsewhere for evidence that someone else has had this issue, but to no avail.

Here's the situation:
    I have about 6 successful flights under my belt since getting my P3S a week ago, without so much as a rough landing. On Monday, I went for a quick lunch-hour flight in a nearby park. The flight went just fine for 10 minutes or so. Then I noticed a warning of Battery Discharge Low Temperature. At this point, I also noticed that my remaining battery capacity was dropping off at an alarming rate. I initiated a return-to-home immediately, and got it safely on the ground before anything unfortunate happened.

Since then, I've done a bit of investigating. After fully charging the battery, the app still reports a low battery temperature alarm, and displays a constant temp value of -58. Not sure at the moment if that's in C or F, but I don't expect it matters much. Air temperatures on the day of the last flight were around 80F. Charging was done in my air conditioned home, kept at 76F. I was planning to perform a hover test, just to get a baseline for flight time on this battery (my only one so far). However, I am now unable to even start the rotors due to the battery temp alarm.

If anyone has some insight as to what might be causing the issue, your input will be greatly appreciated! I will happily provide any specific details needed.

Also, here is the flight log on healthydrones: HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

Thanks in advance!

2. Techcop50

Welcome to the forum!
    Sounds like a defective battery to me...but I'm no expert.

3. WetDog