Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fail safe mode

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by w36x399, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. w36x399

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you fly the pv2+ into a valley and lose signal will the pv2+ fly directly vertical 20 meters above your established home point, then come home? Is there any way to adjust the fly home elevation? There are a lot of tall trees where I live.
     
  2. Zinnware

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not currently by using the 3.04 Assistant Software or older versions.
    One method to do it on the fly is...
    1 - Conduct normal start-up procedures.
    2 - take off and gain an altitude higher than your trees. Reset your home position while in the air over your original takeoff point. Once reset the Phantom will rise 20 meters above the new point and return home. The process is discussed in another thread: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=17974&p=167269&hilit=reset+home+point#p167269
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Your understanding is correct, when failsafe/RTH initiates the Phantom will first ascent to 20m above the recorded home point height (if it's not at that height or above already).

    There is a way to adjust what the Phantom uses as home point (including the "starting height"):

    -First, IOC must be enabled beforehand in the Assistant software. If you have P2 this will require switching to NAZA mode.
    -After you first take off and the Phantom has recorded it's initial home point, fly directly above you to the height you want to reset the home point to (say, an extra 20m to give margin for the trees), and once you hit that height go into a hover.
    -Flick the left switch between "off" and "HL" several times, and you'll see the fast green LED sequence indicating home point has now been re-established at that new height and position.

    Now when it tries to fly home on it's own, it will first make sure it's at 20m above that new home height, or higher.
     
  4. w36x399

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, really appreciate the replies!
     
  5. SJBrit

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Interesting.... So, if I set my home point up in the air, will the Phantom actually auto-land when it returns to home?
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Yes.

    It descends until it no longer senses an increase in barometric pressure which indicates it has landed (on something).
     
  7. SJBrit

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Well that's brilliant! I've always worried about it flying into tall trees during failsafe so now I can give it some extra height and not worry :)