FAIL: Black goo of death (epoxy)

Reaction score
I thought I'd report another failure trying to remove the black epoxy on the Phantom 2+ 5.4 GHz board. I destroyed one of the connectors. I'm convinced it would have been impossible to successfully remove the epoxy. Just as an FYI, I am a very experienced technician/engineer with exactly the correct tools for the job. I work almost daily with surface mount parts and even have a reflow oven and SMT microscope. I carefully used a new #11 Xacto blade to slowly scrape away the epoxy. It had completely penetrated the compression fitting on the male connector. The shield on the connector separated from the board.

In any case I had already purchased a replacement 5.4 GHz board with the epoxy removed on eBay. I put the new board in and all is working fine now. Guess that was a $75 experiment. I'm convinced for most people that you'll end up replacing the board if you try to remove the epoxy.

Mack

W4AX said:
I thought I'd report another failure trying to remove the black epoxy on the Phantom 2+ 5.4 GHz board. I destroyed one of the connectors. I'm convinced it would have been impossible to successfully remove the epoxy. Just as an FYI, I am a very experienced technician/engineer with exactly the correct tools for the job. I work almost daily with surface mount parts and even have a reflow oven and SMT microscope. I carefully used a new #11 Xacto blade to slowly scrape away the epoxy. It had completely penetrated the compression fitting on the male connector. The shield on the connector separated from the board.

In any case I had already purchased a replacement 5.4 GHz board with the epoxy removed on eBay. I put the new board in and all is working fine now. Guess that was a $75 experiment. I'm convinced for most people that you'll end up replacing the board if you try to remove the epoxy.

Mack

Hi Mack,